Review: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #1) by Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard, #1)The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

‘The Sword of Summer’. *sighs* What can I say about it. Well, I can’t say that it was a huge disappointment because it really wasn’t but I can’t say that I was all too happy about it either. The plot seemed to be too much like the original ‘Percy Jackson’ series and Magnus’ voice was much too similar to Percy’s for my taste. Actually, it was downright exactly the same. Seriously, I could not tell those two apart. Rick’s writing style remains unique and constant, full of tension relieving jokes and witty comments, but to be honest I am becoming tired of them. Whenever something serious happens, it seems that one of the characters says something silly to make the whole novel downright laughable. Annabeth does make minor character in this novel, but the whole situation doesn’t make much progress. There were also multiple times where Rick did a bit of self-promoting by alluding to his previous works. This man really needs to think of something new and fast.
Congratulations to Rick Riordan on publishing his FOUTH series as a myth-master!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

