Review: Skinshaper (Rend the Dark, #2) by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

SkinshaperSkinshaper by Mark Gelineau
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Gelineau and King via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Yet another intriguing novella by Mark Gelineau and Joe King that left me breathless. I was extremely excited for ‘Skinshaper’ – the continuation of ‘Rend the Dark’ – and I can’t say that I was disappointed. Like every novella in the ‘Echoes of the Ascended’ and the ‘Rend the Dark’ series, this one captured me instantly with the beautiful and enchanting – yet horrifying – prologue. It drew me in with powerful imagery which the authors, Gelineau and King, used liberally yet masterfully. Some new minor characters were also introduced which really picked up the story and made me enjoy it so much more.
The novella continued the frightening yet gripping story of Ferran and his ability to see through the disguises of monstrous creatures. It was full of tension, drama and anticipation. I loved the way the authors pulled and reeled me into Ferran’s world once again despite the long time since I’ve read the very first novella, ‘Rend the Dark’. They were able to quickly re-established the world and I didn’t feel lost when while reading. That gave the story a BIG plus.
The novella was told in third person past tense, much like ‘Rend the Dark’. I enjoyed the consistency the authors had in their writing which showed great planning on their behalf and great storytelling. This style of writing – whilst being the most popular – is amongst my favourites because it captures so much detail and allows for a clear and untarnished view of the story due to a more abstract look into it.
I couldn’t spot any typos or spelling mistakes. The grammar was superb as always and left me wanting for nothing more. The novella’s prose was just excellent and really helped carry the story across.
I LOVED the ending! As always, the authors duo wrapped up the story beautifully and with finesse. Yet they also left the ending open for more to happen. I can’t wait for the third instalment in the ‘Rend the Dark’ series!
Congratulations to Mark Gelineau and Joe King on publishing yet another small masterpiece!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

