Review: Between (Crossroads Saga, #2) by Mary Ting

Between (Crossroads Saga, #2)Between by Mary Ting

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Mary Ting in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I was pretty pumped getting to read this novel, especially because it came to me in all its beautiful glory as a paperback. Yet this novel also meant the great potential I saw for the series in the first book was also continued here. And I must say it was pretty darn exciting revisiting this old world!
I loved the emotions that literally PERMEATED the novel! It was full of love and passion, but also heaps and heaps and HEAPS of longing. This time I could emotionally connect to our main protagonist and experience this beautiful world alongside her. It really made the story so much more potent as it was an obstacle the author had to overcome in the first novel, ‘Crossroads’.
An old character from ‘Crossroads’ came back in this sequel, and he was not what he seemed. I was pretty surprised and intrigued by the new revelation a few chapters into the novel but also gleefully clapping my hands together for one specific reason. He wanted our dear Claudia Emerson, too! And when I mean wants I mean WANTS! Austin – that’s his name – and Michael were now fighting for her love in this novel and I can’t say that I exactly want her to be with Michael. At the beginning of the novel I was SERIOUSLY on the edge of my seat, wondering what the author was going to do.
Character development in this novel was done spectacularly well. I no longer felt as if some characters were a bit weak in their development or personality. Each was a strong and unique individual that played a great part in the story. I loved some characters for their sense of humour and their loyalty in times of hardships. I was unable to truly loathe the villains, however. It seemed to me that the author loved all her characters so much that it came through in her writing. Characters also evolved over time. It was AWESOME because now they ALL felt vital and tangible despite the fact that some were only minor.
‘Between’ had word-building that really was outstanding. The development and establishment of the world Mary Ting introduced was extraordinarily well continued in this sequel! I learned HEAPS more about the angels and demons that inhabited the Earth, and some important new twists were added that I can’t WAIT to read more about in the third novel ‘Beyond’.
Plot progression and storyline also showed significant improvement compared to the first in the series, ‘Crossroads’. There was just something different about the way the author told her story: like she now had a more concrete idea of where it was going. She skilfully manipulated her characters to create a very gripping plot that made you keep turning the pages, without you knowing it. There was a steady pace to the novel that I thoroughly enjoyed yet at times felt as if it could speed up a little. Battle scenes in my opinion were an area of weakness. I couldn’t seem to get into them and feel the adrenaline. They ended all too soon and were over before I had realised they began. I would strongly recommend that the author infuse her writing with more drama during those scenes as it would really help pick up the pace.
The novel’s finale was just too good! I loved it and how it rounded everything up so well. There wasn’t a cliff-hanger per say, but we are left with a HUGE one emotionally. If you’ve already read this novel, you’ll understand what I mean! I strongly encourage other readers to read this novel! If only JUST for the ending!
The novel was written in first person past tense once again. I found that slightly disappointing as I have learned from experience that first person narration is not the most reliable view when reading a story. I have also found that reading from Claudia Emerson’s point of view made it even more so.
Grammar showed itself to be done well, and there were no spelling mistakes that I could spot. I noticed a couple of typos but overall, it was a well formatted novel as a self-pub. Unfortunately, for me there just wasn’t that something that would have pushed me towards giving this novel a five star. This was a solid four star and I can’t wait to see more from the series!
Congratulations to Mary Tings on publishing a spectacular sequel! I can’t wait for ‘Beyond’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

