Review: The Black Lotus (Night Flower, #1) by Claire Warner

The Black Lotus: (Night Flower Book 1)The Black Lotus: by Claire Warner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Claire Warner in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I have always loved historicals: especially those taking place in regency time periods. I was extremely intrigued as to how and how well the author would weave the world of balls and gowns to that of magic and spells. This is probably the FIRST novel I have read with this unique combination of genres so expectations weren’t very high for me, but nevertheless there.
The author’s writing style was absolutely superb. I was enchanted right from the beginning. It was smooth and flowing – not at all stilted, which I very much enjoyed. It completely suited the time period and was overwhelmingly realistic. It was so beautiful and enchanting! I really can’t tell you what it was exactly that actually captured me and my instant admiration for this author.
The characters were extremely well developed. I loved the variety of personalities that each and every one of them had. It was enchanting to read about so many complex and vital personalities as they really added a captivating spice to the story. Each had their own perks and downfalls; their own unique appearance which did not seem to blend with another’s; their own character which was strong and present allowing for an enrichment of the plot. I really liked Melissa De Vire as a female protagonist. She WAS a typical character but I liked her nevertheless because of her strength and cleverness amongst others in society. She didn’t want to bow down to her place as a woman in the seventeen-hundreds but had a mind of her own. Justin Lestrade was a very enigmatic and sensual male character. He was full of secrets and unknown characteristics.
I felt every pull and spark that Melissa and Justin felt for each other. I also absolutely LOVED how the author prolonged tension between the two, never giving much more than a heated glance or a seductive touch between the two in the first half of the novel. The author would draw out moments between the two until I was on the edge I my seat eager for something – ANYTHING – to happen between the two. A totally swoon worthy read!
The setting was done just right. For every key event that happened, the author would pick a place for her characters that highlighted emotions and actions, bringing to life a gorgeous interaction in an enchanting world.
What really upset me was the poor quality formatting this novel received in paperback format. The writing was full of small incorrect punctuation marks, would leave out a word every now and then, and use incorrect tense. For example, after a characters spoken sentence would be written, a full stop would be used instead of a comma or vice versa. If a sentence should have begun with the word “sitting” it began with the word “sat” instead. It wasn’t altogether irritating or in any way confusing, it just made the standard of the work fall. Yet another big downer was the way the novel was presented with a very small text font, which made it almost impossible to read and the very large unneeded spacing left between lines.
I spotted LOADS of typos, but I believe this can all be fixed with another editing of the novel. I loved the prose that was used sometimes. I LITERALLY felt transported to 1752! The grammar was OUTSTANDING and I loved that there were no pesky spelling mistakes. A solid FOUR star!
I loved the ending. It was just absolutely perfect for this novel. And for all you cliff-hanger haters: Well this novel doesn’t have one! I’m still not sure whether to cry or laugh. This novel did a pretty good job enticing me to read the novel without a cliff-hanger, but I bet that if there was one, I would have wailed in injustice and totally given this novel a five star!
Congratulations to Clair Warner on publishing a gorgeous debut!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

