Review: Sabriel (The Old Kingdom, #1) by Garth Nix

Sabriel (The Old Kingdom Trilogy, #1)Sabriel by Garth Nix
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

‘Sabriel’ was a very hard book for me to write a review about. I have wanted to read this novel for ages but have never gotten around to it till now. I had high expectations of it but was sadly let down many times but then also intrigued just as many times. The beginning of the novel really bored me. I didn’t understand what was happening entirely well and the author offered little explanation. The introduction of Sabriel’s love interest didn’t appear until halfway through the book and then all affections and romance was put off until the very end when feeling were suddenly declared for each other. Real confusing. The writing was very good but I had a hard time falling into the world of the Old Kingdom. It was also a very interesting mix between realistic and fantastical. In the end I decided that this novel was worthy of a four star but I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.
Congratulations to Garth Nix on publishing this stunning novel!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

