Review: Fifty Percent Vampire by D. K. Janotta

Fifty Percent VampireFifty Percent Vampire by D.K. Janotta

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by D. K. Janotta via YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I absolutely adored the cover! It had such beautiful colours and created a very enchanting image. The blurb also really intrigued me and I had high hopes and expectations for this novel and couldn’t wait to see how it would all go down.
The novel starts off quite well. It begins with a smooth and easy introduction into Astrid’s vampire world and her dreams to enter the human civilisation. The reader gets introduced to multiple characters, all whom hold important places in Astrid’s life. Already, I was intrigued and compelled to continue reading by this gentle yet demanding curiosity to discover how this most recent vampire-themed novel would reveal its story.
It was slightly stereotypical with all the vampiric banaza about holy water and bibles being able to harm or kill vampires was proven to be true for this novel’s story. I found this upsetting and subpar as it is SUCH an overused idea and greatly in need of diversity. I disliked that the story seemed to be so stereotypical and average in terms of plot and creativity, as well as world building.
I disliked the mother as a character. Even though she was a good mother and a kind character, she seemed utterly fake to me. The way she spoke and the way she acted really annoyed me as it was so unrealistic and just…annoying. She didn’t feel like a solid and real character whose emotions I could feel and whom I sympathised with. Her relationship with her daughter was too…weird…I really can’t think of a better way to describe it. She felt kind of immature.
There was too much teenage angst in this novel, too. I mean! It literally permeated the whole novel from cover to cover. The main character, Astrid, also seemed to act a LOT like an average stereotypical novel girl but it was as if the author had tried to disguise that by make her half vampire. A real downer if you ask me.
The main character herself was yet another stereotypical girl with too many supernatural/stereotypical problems that may/totally have been exaggerated beyond reason. She was weak and silly, crying and vulnerable, boring and unoriginal. *sigh* Really, she could have been a little bit better constructed. Astrid Sonnschein was basically a cut out character archetype. I saw little to no evolvement on her part throughout the whole novel. The story was overrated and very predictable. I wish I could say more about it except that it had the necessary introduction, complication and resolution you would expect and little else.
The conclusion of the story was very…uncertain…in my opinion. It would start to wrap things up and close the loose ends but then introduce something new and continue whilst wrapping other problems up. It left the ending far to open for my liking and I found this incredibly confusing for one reason: this was supposed to be a standalone novel.
Tension, drama and anticipation were all quite weak. I couldn’t feel any of the three DESPITE the incredible murder mysteries that made this novel a consuming one to categorise, and the various drama that occurred besides. I felt as if the author wasn’t able to convey the strong and important emotions from his characters and that, as a result, the novel suffered greatly.
‘Fifty Percent Vampire’ is writing in third person past tense, narrated most often by Astrid herself and she adventures into the unknown. Astrid’s mother also had chapters told in her perspective for every few of Astrid’s, as well as Mike Hanson, a local town cop, and Angus, Astrid’s adopted older brother.
The authors writing style was nothing that really stood out in my eyes when compared to the MILLIONS of self and independently published authors out there. The writing and phrasing was sometimes stilted and unbelievable in the way the characters spoke. I would greatly recommend the author work greatly on his prose as it really drew back from my opinions of the characters and story when I read. Grammar was well done, and I didn’t see any spelling mistakes though there were a couple of typos. Overall, this was a precarious three star.
Congratulations to D. K. Janotta on publishing his debut novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

