Review: One Starry Night (Once Upon a Winter, #4) by Tilly Tennant

One Starry NightOne Starry Night by Tilly Tennant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Tilly Tennant via Brook Cottage Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

After reading the first two novellas in this series and being utterly enchanted, the third novella had begun to lose its lustre and charm for me. I had high hopes for this novella as I really hoped it would regain my interest and really deliver.
Hannah’s problems with Mitchell have just settled down when all of a sudden she and Gina had to deal with Ross’s beating and the unjust and desperate actions of Howard, Gina’s cheating ex-husband. Then comes Graham, Mitchell’s long-time business partner and maybe the man Martine had been having an affair with. But his devious plans did not stop at that. No. Hannah suspected that he was using Mitchell’s hard earned money to out-buy houses from competitors. And Mitchell didn’t suspect a thing. With all this drama going on, Hannah still had to battle for her love with Mitchell. And hopefully find her happily ever after…
I really admired Tilly Tennant’s writing style. It was simple yet touching and soulful. And when combined with a quiet and gentle atmosphere, it really did make a beautiful post-Christmas short story. The prose was lovely and the author really made you feel like you were in England with her use of colloquial English, which really amused me at times!
Unfortunately, the story had started to lose its zest and intrigue for me. There were times when the story lulled in progression and I would wonder what the point of it was. I still enjoyed some key scenes but probably not as much as I ought to have if there was slightly more drama to the story.
The ending kind of upset me with its vague ending. It didn’t really wrap things up for me and I wasn’t satisfied with it as a reader. Most importantly it didn’t give me enough closure from the story as some events were left unfinished and like I said, it was all TOO vague for my liking.
Congratulations to Tilly Tennant on publishing the final novella in her ‘Once Upon a Winter’ series.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

