Review: Ways to Say Goodbye (Once Upon a Winter, #3) by Tilly Tennant

Ways to Say GoodbyeWays to Say Goodbye by Tilly Tennant

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Tilly Tennant via Brook Cottage Books in exchange for an honest review.

Review

AAAAAAAARGH! This is LITERALLY how excited I was about reviewing and best of all, READING, this short yet perfectly enchanting novella. After the BIG, MASSIVE, HUMONGOUS cliff-hanger at the end of the previous novella ‘I’m Not in Love’, I was off the edge of my seat and rolling on the floor throwing a MASSIVE tantrum to get my greedy bookworm hands on this little priceless thing! And the blurb didn’t seem to make it any better! It only heightened the suspense and made me completely DEVOUR this thing for breakfast!
In the beginning Hannah tries to fight everything between her and Mitchel and makes an attempt to move on by going on a blind date – at least until Mitchell’s memory returns and he realises that breaking his marriage with Martine was a bad thing or he finalises his divorce with her. She still holds fast but is more hesitant to but up such a strong front and more lenient to anything that could happen between Mitchell and her. But then Mitchell remembers everything in one spontaneous and disastrous moment that changes everything for Hannah…
I loved the increase of emotional drama and tension in this novella. It seemed to highlight the strongest of the story’s features. The writing style was beautiful and elegant. I really enjoyed the simplistic yet lovely storytelling that captivated me from book one. It is written in third person past tense which I highly enjoyed.
Sometimes it felt as if there was a lull in the storytelling and I was growing uncharmed by some of the characters. I started to dislike some of them and had trouble understanding their motives sometimes. Take Gina, Hannah’s older sister, for example. She was nearing her fifties and she was hooking up with a guy in his thirties, Ross. I started to experience a shock settling in. I also had started to understand why her relationship with Ross may be considered taboo. Small dislikes had started to creep in, but overall this was still a TOTALLY satisfying book in the end.
Congratulations to Tilly Tennant on publishing the THIRD novella in her charming series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

