Review: Air Awakens (Air Awakens, #1) by Elise Kova

Air Awakens (Air Awakens, #1)Air Awakens by Elise Kova
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Elise Kova via YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I was really REALLY REALLY EXCITED about launching myself into this new novel and new series. Not only was the cover SO DROP DEAD GORGEOUS, the blurb literally BESPELLED me to pick up the novel. I have always loved the concept of magic and the fact that the main character was a librarian apprentice (surrounded by books) and got to SAVE THE LIFE of a PRINCE! *swoons* It just kept reeling me in. I was completely defenceless.
‘Air Awakens’ started off with a BANG and transported me into the world of Vhalla Yarl. I was IN LOVE with this novel only TWO pages in. How’s that?! The novel had beautiful writing that SCREAMED confidence, style, maturity and talented skill. The story and it’s characters were also surprisingly seductive and sexy. Its mystery and drama make it even more so.
‘Air Awakens’ was written in third person present tense – my very favourite writing style. I’ve favoured this one since FOREVER because it allowed for so many perspectives and in depth looks into stories without the clouding judgement or view of the character who is narrating. It allowed for a sense of presence in the story for the reader whilst he/she is reading. And not only did this novel give us all that but also much MORE, giving me a very deep understanding of Vhalla Yarl. A really intellectual young woman of seventeen she was everything I had hoped for in a female lead. She had a very realistic feel to her; a very tangible essence.
Character development was EXTREMELY good! A prime example was of Prince Aldrick who we see as one person at the beginning – dangerous, uncaring, cruel and selfish – and then gradually open up to become a vulnerable, considerate, humorous and loyal person. One who it was also possible to fall in love with. Aldrick is not in any way a “good” or “handsome” prince as he had killed and used many people and his facial features were too sharp and pronounced – masculine – in some ways. But his other qualities made up for his lack of “goodness” and Vhalla Yarl still foundd him attractive.
Drama, tension and anticipation WAS OFF THE CHARTS! Oh, my gosh, I did NOT know how to stop reading at times – especially in the first 65 percent of the book. It was UNPUTDOWNABLE! Readers, prepare to become ADDICTED! Elise Kova was able to manipulate the emotions of her characters (not to mention me) to really suck me into her world. There was STACKS of romantic tension between our two significant characters! Really, an on-the-edge-of-my-seat-about-to-fall-off-a-cliff novel!
The imagery and emotive language the author utilised was just WOW! It was extremely impressive and very well applied to events and situations. Together these two techniques really took hold of my inner reading movie, as I like to call it, and created a stunning story in my mind’s eye. I would get attached to certain events and recall them vividly later on. I could see, touch, taste, hear and smell what the main protagonist – Vhalla Yarl – could. The author really created a stunning visual! I must highly commend her on her writing.
I was actually slightly disappointed with the way the novel ended. Though it finished solidly and answered a lot of questions whilst keeping room open for more progress, I felt that it was weak – not good enough and subpar to the standard of writing before. I really wanted a cliff-hanger. Surprising, I know. What type of reader in their right mind would want one? But a cliff-hanger in this case would have seriously benefitted both novel and author as it would have encouraged that “Noooooo!” Which would subsequently lead to the reader reading the next novel and the author obtaining more buys of her novel.
Despite all, I just COULDN’T bring myself to give this novel less than a FIVE STAR. I felt like I was cheating myself and other readers since I had so strongly enjoyed the novel.
Congratulations to Elise Kova on publishing a STUNNING FIVE STAR debut novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

