Review: Crossroads (Crossroads Saga, #1) by Mary Ting

Crossroads (Crossroads Saga, #1)Crossroads by Mary Ting
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Mary Ting in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Crossroads’ was a novel I had high expectations of. I really looked forward to exploring this new world and the blurb had really enchanted me. I couldn’t wait to see what Mary Ting, the author, would make of her characters and world ever since she personally informed me that the first two chapters in the novel were actually based on real life dreams she had a while ago. I felt that the novel was going to be stellar for sure!
So here is my opinion upon having read the prologue of ‘Crossroads’. The language was slightly…I can’t really describe it…but, OFF somehow. Like the author tried to make and express her story as soulfully and deeply as she could but somehow during the process of transferring thoughts to document made them a teeny bit wonky. After a little while the writing did seem to come more naturally and fluently. It became nicer to read as the author gained more confidence.
What I really admired about the prologue, though? The way the author used imagery language to really communicate the world of ‘Crossroads’ across to her reader. I loved the bombardment of images and pictures I had in my brain. It was a beautiful setting that she created! What I got straight away is that the novel really centres on dreams, and the author really carried that across very well. When I first started reading I could FEEL the dream-like quality to the story. It was yet another something I loved.
Ok. So my first meeting and getting to know the main character, Claudia Emerson, didn’t go so well. I really disliked her. She seemed like the most stereotypical, typical and the epitome of the average, novel main character who has a run in the fantastical or supernatural world. But further into the novel I grew to know and understand her so that my opinion was completely different by the end of the novel.
There was SO much chemistry going on between Claudia and Michael that I was afraid that the book would combust in my very hands. I must admit that it was cheesy but I liked it even though the depth of their intimacy – which happened so fast – was slightly weird. (And no, there were no steamy scenes it’s just that their affections towards each other were so deep emotionally and intimate that I found it surprising.)
The novel had this quiet and eerie atmosphere to it that I really enjoyed! There was a mysterious tension that lingered throughout the whole novel that kinda spooked but TOTALLY intrigued me. It felt almost like a murder/mystery genre! There was this one scene especially that REALLY spooked me. Lol! This author’s a firecracker!
On the downside, I couldn’t connect with the characters emotionally. They felt slightly distant and out of touch for me. I couldn’t see what they saw, heard what they heard or felt what they felt. This really bothered me. It was also another factor that drew away from the novel.
I felt that the ending dragged on. I didn’t really understand why the author continued to write when she neatly wrapped up everything in the two chapters after the final showdown between the angels and the fallen.
Excellent grammar and spelling! I loved that the author’s style was so clear and effective, it carried over a lot of important things in the novel. There were a couple of formatting issues in the novel but it didn’t take away from the story.
This was a solid 4 star as I really felt that it had the potential to be something more but seemed to lack something that would have made it a 5 star. Overall, it was a lovely angels and demons story and I am looking forward to reading ‘Between’.
Congratulations to Mary Ting on publishing a lovely YA debut novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

