Review: Into Coraira (Legend of Rhyme, #2) by Jaime Lee Mann

Into Coraira (Legend of Rhyme #2)Into Coraira by Jaime Lee Mann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Blue Moon Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Into Coraira’ was a novella I eagerly looked forward after my complete enrapture with the first novel in the ‘Legend of Rhyme’ series: ‘Elora of Stone’. The simple yet beautiful story had captured my heart and this much anticipated sequel proved to be everything I hoped it would be and more.
After reading ‘Elora of Stone’ I still had many questions about what happened next as the author did not completely wrap up everything in the first novel nor did she have all questions answered. This second novella was written by Jaime Lee Mann to answer all of these questions and more as well as continue the twins, Ariana’ and Asher’s, journey on the magical, mysterious and mystical Island of Rhyme.
There is a new threat in this novella: Asgall, the eldest of the Ancients – a groups of powerful sorcerers –, has escaped his imprisonment when the portal, which was opened by the twins to banish Elora, allowed passage between the earthly realm of Rhyme and the dark realm of Darali. Asgall is the father of both Elora and Calla, twins who have been birthed by their mother Freya. His return means that he has the power to unleash the cruellest and most evil of spells and demons, which does not bode well for the earthly realm of Rhyme. The twins, Asher and Ariana, learn more about themselves in this novella as they discover their magical potential and learn to harness their powers to fight for the light side of magic.
The novella is told in third person narrative and present tense as well as by a variety of characters and their perspectives. Light-hearted but still greatly enjoyable, it’s exciting and humorous, mysterious and with a deep sense of fore-boding which made the novella a FIVE star.
‘Into Coraira’ is targeted for a middle-grade/children’s audience but I must say I enjoyed the series IMMENSELY nevertheless! I loved its bedtime-story like atmosphere and would often read it just before getting into bed! It is also very short – around 202 pages long – perfect for getting reluctant kids reading!
Congratulations to Jaime Lee Mann on publishing a wonderful sequel in the ‘Legend of Rhyme’ series! I can’t wait for more!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

