Review: Elora of Stone (Legend of Rhyme, #1) by Jaime Lee Mann

Elora of Stone (Legend of Rhyme, #1)Elora of Stone by Jaime Lee Mann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Blue Moon Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Elora of Stone’ was a novel I enjoyed extremely. I absolutely LOVE the covers in the series. They are simple – very much like the story – yet perfectly convey the essence of the novella. The covers seemed to scream, “I am MAGICAL!”. I was INSTANTLY captured.
The novella instantly proved itself to be outstanding: I was drawn into a magical world that exuded adventure and mystery. ‘Elora of Stone’ had a gentle and quite quality to it that I found absolutely enchanting. Heart-warming and full of hope it brought to mind the writing style found in children’s storybooks. The story was full of beautifully alive characters, whether they be villain or hero, young or old. Each was cleverly crafted into unique people whom reading about was delightful!
Gorgeously rendered pictures were found at the end of every chapter in the novel. I loved the look of them; they seemed to add an extra bit of spice to the story! Some looked downright scary but I thought that they captured the characters marvellously. It was a clever idea adding the pictures as they made the novella feel more like a storybook than ever.
Told in third person narration with a multitude alternating character perspectives I felt drawn deeper into the world of Rhyme as the characters each brought fresh and new views to the story creating a completely magical effect. I greatly enjoyed the variety of perspectives and was extremely glad that the author had employed them. If the novel was to be written in any other way, it probably would not have appealed to me as much.
The writing flowed well and didn’t seem stilted or amateur at all, which I found great and surprising as this is the author’s debut novella! It seemed her years as a ghost-writer had deeply paid off!
Congratulations to Jaime Lee Mann on the publication of her debut novella!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

