Review: Deceptive Cadence (Cadence, #1) by Katie Hamstead

Deceptive Cadence (Cadence, #1)Deceptive Cadence by Katie Hamstead

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Katie Hamstead via YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Deceptive Cadence’ sounded really intriguing to me right from the go; sort of like a mix between the earthly and heavenly which I found absolutely captivating. I was incredibly eager – some may say over-eager – to read this novel as the whole aspect of being given a second chance and going back in time to right wrongs was something I couldn’t deny.
I also must strongly recommend this novel and its sequel for mature and older young-adult readers. There are some pretty hot and heavy moments in the novel so this is a warning to the people who would like a cleaner novel to read. The chemistry between James and Cadence is THAT GOOD!
The novel starts off nicely but I felt like it was slightly unbelievable and a bit of a pretence. When Cadence reacts to the death of her husband and eighteen-month-old daughter I felt like it was too stereotypical and unconvincing.
Surprisingly the novel got better and better. I must admit that it felt slightly strange reading from the perspective of a fifteen year old in high school because stuff happened to her that was more likely to happen to a seventeen year old. The fact that she behaved like an adult most of the time even though she was a teenager didn’t put me off. Instead, I really admired the character for her matureness though Cadence most likely acted like a silly girl before her traveling back in time. The author seemed to build and build on the events that happened previously and steadily increased the amount of drama and emotions that enhanced the plot.
I loved the diversity of characters and their dynamics. I felt that the variety of her friends perfectly captured the ones we readers most often shared ourselves when we were in high school. The stuff these characters said were also pretty impressive: the author managed to effectively capture the most stereotypical yet true words of teenagers who are influenced by the advertising media and social norm around them. It made the story and Cadence’s traveling back in time so much more realistic!
Cadence herself, as I said previously, was a great character. This WAS mainly because of her mature and grown-up behaviour in the novel but I also liked how she was so willing to change her past and didn’t seem to take advantage of the fact that she was younger and therefore had a longer life to live. Cadence did seem teeny-tiny bit too good at times but I still like that about her.
James Gordon…well, what can I say about him? I absolutely LOATHED and HATED him at the beginning of the novel. He was such a *insert expletive here*!! He did drugs and smoked; he dressed like a bum (that was a direct quote from the novel) and drank alcohol. He seemed very pushy and misogynistic as he tried to get Cadence to date him and I strongly disapproved of his physical contact with her at first. But then… Well, I’ll leave you to ponder over what happens but it is VERY EXCITING! I loved this turn of events and looked forward to the follow-up action INTENSELY! To put things simply: I REALLY enjoyed reading about James afterwards.
Cadence and James also have this palpable chemistry that seemed to radiate from them whenever the two were together. I was very surprised at the spark they produced as James’ initial appearance put my off. The drama was also quite…DRAMATIC… The characters seemed to face something new at every turn and that made the plot progression steady yet interesting.
Besides the many wonderful things I’ve listed above in this novel, there was also something inexplicably ATTRACTIVE about it. For some reason I couldn’t stop reading whenever I picked the novel up. I would just keep on and on and on – okay, you get the point. I stayed up SO LATE finishing this novel, absolutely exhausted, but I couldn’t be any more happier that I did! 🙂
I loved the author’s unique style and the way it seemed to let the best and worst parts of the story really shine through. I spotted no spelling mistakes or typing errors. The grammar was EXCELLENT! But all this was expected as I received a complete and finalised ARC/RC.
Congratulations to Katie Hamstead on publishing a FIVE STAR novel, the first of a duology!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

