Review: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Northanger AbbeyNorthanger Abbey by Jane Austen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

‘Northanger Abbey’ was probably a favourite amongst the recent classics I have read. I really enjoyed the variety of characters and the many different relationships going on, so much more than its “companion’ novel ‘Persuasion’ which was published at the same time as ‘Northanger Abbey’. I enjoyed the plot a lot more than I expected and I loved how I could see Catherine grow up and mature from her as a child to a more mature young woman. I greatly admired the Tilneys! I mean, who could not? They were great friends to Catherine from the beginning and it was something that was vitally important to Catherine.
Congratulations to Jane Austen on writing such a lovely and moralistic novel!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

