Review: A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

A Tale of Two CitiesA Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

‘A Tale of Two Cities’ is my first novel by Charles Dickens (I know, shocking right?) but one I was really looking forward to. This novel did not disappoint me; it had lovely language and writing that I found easy to read and understand when compared to other classic novels. I also loved the story which seemed to start of quite simply but then grew in complexity and relevance to its time period. I also greatly enjoyed reading about Lucie and Charles whose romance stands against great odds. Sydney was also a surprising character to read about; he often surprised me in his actions and I often felt great pity for him. The shadow of La Guillotine was an interesting trouble to read of as it provided a stark and dark contrast to the often happy and content household of the Manette’s.
Congratulations to Charles Dickens who wrote and published this wonderful story!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

