Review: Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

Far from the Madding Crowd  Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

‘Far from the Madding Crowd’ was my first novel by Thomas Hardy and one I enjoyed but had difficulty reading. Thomas Hardy writes very confusingly, in my opinion, when he describes the scenery of the novel. Strangely I found that whenever the story would be told in third person narrative from the characters’ point of view, I would completely understand what was being said and whenever dialogue happened. He would often reference ideas from his time so sometimes his comparisons made no sense to me. For those who’ve watched the movie I would strongly recommend reading this novel before as some smaller scenes are cut out and only major scenes have been focused on in the movie.
Congratulations to Thomas Hardy who has written this lovely masterpiece and who’s full manuscript has finally been published in this great edition!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

