Review: Ignited (Unclaimed, #2) by Laurie Wetzel

Ignited (Unclaimed, #2)Ignited by Laurie Wetzel

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wise Ink Creative Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Ignited’ is the second novel in the ‘Unclaimed’ series and one I was REALLY looking forward to. Why should you continue to read the ‘Unclaimed’ series or even pick it up? Because it’s an EPIC continuation of the series. Needless to say, there’s lots of action, adventure and tragedy. ‘Ignited’ has a beautiful and gorgeous world that absolutely enchanted me.
The relationship between Maddy and MJ continues to grow; they really DO make a GREAT couple. MJ is ever the gentleman and always so attentive to Maddy. He harbours really deep feelings for her and I admire the fact that he doesn’t act like some hormonal filled drunkie who lusts for her JUST because he has finally got the ability to feel and experience emotions. I think what would have made the story even more dramatic was if Maddy and MJ did not experience that insta-love which is so typical of novels such as these. I would have actually enjoyed seeing them grow as a couple and I think I would have ‘shipped’ their relationship more if they GREW into their love and relationship.
One thing I realised about this novel and the previous is that they take place over a very short amount of time. For example, ‘Unclaimed’ takes place over only FIVE DAYS! But there is SOOOOO much content! A whole HEAP happens in the first (P.S. Of you haven’t read it, go do it NOW! There is a reason I gave it a five star!). I really didn’t realise that it took place over such a short amount of time until Maddy tells MJ that they only met six DAYS ago. (‘Ignited’ starts straight after the end of ‘Unclaimed’.) This really reinforces my wish that the insta-love that they experience did not take place. I really wished that the period of time was lengthened. Or at least the author could have put “Day 1” or something similar at the top of each chapter so that readers are able to remember how long ago these events happened. It really boggled my mind.
Even MORE shocking secrets and surprises are revealed; I started to find this tiring. The steady pace allowed me to process all the information the author was giving me but I found that the many, many, MANY revelations to be exhausting. Maddy literally goes through SO MUCH! It’s like at every turn something else happens at EVERY DAMN TURN! Phew, I don’t know how she does it!
For some strange reason I was left less satisfied with this novel than the first. I was so absolutely CHARMED with the first but the second just seemed to loose its attractiveness around a third of the way through. As I previously said, soooo much stuff happens that I found it distracting and just…too much.
The novel is told in first person narration with three different perspectives: Maddy’s, MJ’s and Justin’s. Their perspectives alternate every chapter. I enjoyed reading from Justin’s perspective as it gave me a new insight into who he is. He seemed like such a villain through and through in ‘Unclaimed’ but I realised that there was more to him due to his chapters in ‘Ignited’.
Whilst reading I spotted no grammar mistakes or spelling and typing errors in this ARC. The writing was excellent; I was pretty impressed with its quality – just like the first novel, ‘Unclaimed’.
The ending was okay; not too shabby, but it wasn’t a wowser in my opinion. There was a definite cliff-hanger but it didn’t incite a “NOOOOOOOO!” from me.
The author had also kindly replied to my question from my previous review. I asked her if by any chance she was actually using a pen name and that she had already published before. I thought maybe that was why she wrote so well! To my dismay, she replied that Laurie Wetzel was her real name. I guess I’m no Sherlock Holmes after all. 🙂
Congratulations to Laurie Wetzel on the publication of her second novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

