Review: Unclaimed (Unclaimed, #1) by Laurie Wetzel

Unclaimed (Unclaimed, #1)Unclaimed by Laurie Wetzel

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Laurie Wetzel in exchange for an honest review.

Review

First things first, don’t let the blurb misguide you: ‘Unclaimed’ may sound dystopian but it’s really not. It is more of a paranormal YA novel than anything else. I had strong suspicions that this was yet another angels and demons story but – shockingly – I did not mind. In fact I was quite pleased and very eager to read the ‘Unclaimed’.
The novel also vaguely reminded me of ‘Twilight’ by Stephanie Meyer. I spotted quite a few little bits and pieces that matched up with ‘Twilight’. What really made me suspect was when Maddy wrote up a list of things that MJ could be. So, if you’re a “Twihard”, this novel is for you!
The cover does NOT DO IT JUSTICE! Argh! I can’t believe that the cover is so mediocre for such an awesome and amazing story! I mean, I’d totally slave away on an absolutely gorgeous cover for this novel if I could and if I had the skills but sadly, I don’t. ‘Unclaimed’ needs to get a better and more amazing cover soon. Like ASAP! Because this novel deserves to be read and the current cover is just not doing it.
‘Unclaimed’ starts off quite mysteriously. There’s a looming presence of darkness and heaviness to the atmosphere which really intrigued me. It kept me on my toes and made me want to read more. It also – surprisingly – did not start the way I expected it to.
I really liked that the author jumped straight in to the action and the story. She didn’t drone on and on and one and one and one – okay, you get the picture. I know that some authors choose to dedicate the first third of a novel to the ‘introduction’ but I just find that boring. Most of the time, such decisions make the novel poor and only RARELY are they a good decision.
Maddy’s and MJ’s relationship was so cheesy and sweet! Every time the two were together I got a rush of euphoria and happiness. The two were just perfectly adorable. Maddy was very distrusting and hesitant at first and MJ – the sweetie pie – was a perfect gentleman and VERY persistent.
Character establishment also happens quite quickly and effectively. I gleaned and learned a lot from just a few chapters and already feel like I know who all of them are, their personality, character and attitude. The characters were all complex, dynamic and perfectly loveable (or hateable).
The writing, I must say, was VERY good. It flowed well and nothing seemed stilted or out of place. (Something I noticed would happen quite often with new or indie and self-published authors.) It was confident and natural right from the beginning. I was so impressed with the author’s style, in fact, that I started to believe that maybe Laurie Wetzel is yet another pen name to an extremely talented and seasoned writer. (Laurie Wetzel has two published novels under her name and another in the series coming soon.)
The novel was also very bittersweet at times and melancholy. ‘Unclaimed’ is told in first person narrative with two character perspectives: Maddy’s and MJ’s. The grammar was also very good and I spotted no spelling or typing mistakes.
There are lots of surprises that happen. Shocks and secrets are galore! I found this utterly captivating and have to praise the author for her work! It made ‘Unclaimed’ much fun to read!
The ending was absolutely EPIC! It was a FANTASTIC FINALE! I just HAVE to give the author a standing ovation! It was just right: satisfied me as a reader yet made me beg for more!
This novels rivals Lauren Kate’s ‘Fallen’ series and Becca Fitzpatrick’s ‘Hush, Hush’ series! An OUTSTANDING FIVE STAR! Congratulations to Laurie Wetzel! I am DIEING to read ‘Ignited’!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Unclaimed (Unclaimed, #1) by Laurie Wetzel

Leave a Reply

