Review: Rend the Dark (Echoes of the Ascended, #2) by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Rend the Dark (Rend the Dark, #1)Rend the Dark by Mark Gelineau

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Gelineau and King via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Rend the Dark’ was a creepy, fast-paced demon hunt through the forgotten villages and ruins of Aedaron. I absolutely LOVED it!
This is the second novella in the ‘An Echo of the Ascended’ series and follows Ferran’s story. Once again I was enchanted by the blurb and absolutely eager to read the novella. This is my second story by Mark Gelineau and Joe King and BOY am I glad that I picked it up! If you haven’t read the first novella in this series, I suggest you do! But ‘Rend the Dark’ could also be read as a standalone without having read ‘A Reaper of Stone’ though some characters from the latter are mentioned in the former.
Ferran’s story starts off with a BANG – and it quickly captivates me. The novella starts off by introducing us to a young orphan, Ferran, who has the ability to see monsters who have hidden amongst the everyday people by disguising themselves as humans. Ferran’s novella is the first novella in the ‘Ferran’ series and the second in the ‘An Echo of the Ascended’ series. Ferran is linked to Elinor – who was the main protagonist in the first novella of the ‘An Echo of the Ascended’ series – through their mutual orphanage and their close friendship, along with the rest of the characters who will be the main protagonists in the rest of the novellas: Alys, Roan and Kay.
Mark Gelineau’s and Joe King’s beautiful storytelling and language is once again present in ‘Render the Dark’. For the second time, their prose and grammar is outstanding and I spotted no spelling mistakes or typing mistakes that would have taken from the powerful and awesome effect these two authors have.
Once again the authors chose to use a story structure that I so greatly admire about them: a prologue; four acts (aka chapters); and an epilogue.
This is a very short novella: only 55 pages long on my Kindle app but I found it totally satisfying to read. There was character development, dynamics and history; all which is needed to make a good novella.
Told in third person narrative, we follow Ferran’s point of view and Hileon Finchlas’ – a minor character. Their perspectives alternate every chapter so that we are kept on our toes and wondering.
For fans of high fantasy, Sarah J. Maas’ ‘Throne of Glass’ series and George R. R. Martin’s ‘A Dance of Dragons’ series.
Congratulations to Mark Gelineau and Joe King! I can’t wait for more of your stories!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

