Review: First Date (Kiwi Bride, #3.5) by Alexia Praks

When the Sun Courts the Moon: First DateWhen the Sun Courts the Moon: First Date by Alexia Praks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Alexia Praks in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘When the Sun courts the Moon: First Date’ starts off really interestingly, with Chan being read a fortune by her Grandmother Lin’s best friend, Grandmother Su. Grandmother Su tells Chan about her love life and how she will meet a man who shines as brightly as the sun…and he will be her soulmate. This really made me curious as to how the novella would progress with this fortune read and hovering above the story. Now, let’s just all step back and admire the cover. Isn’t it beautiful? *sighs deeply*
What I later disapproved of was when Chan says: “It was just too toxic. Relationships were toxic. Love was toxic. And sex? Yes, that was toxic, too.” What does that mean? I believe the author could have phrased it a bit differently and still gotten the same message across, which was: Chan believes that love will only lead to sadness and hurt and that they can damage a person. I slightly disapproved of the way the author wrote it as it made both Chan seem like a prude and a character whom the readers may be forces to hate instead of love.
Chan’s story is also a very sad and tragic one: this I realised later into the novella. It really explains why Chan’s thoughts are so negative about love, relationships and sex. I felt this HUMUNGOUS rush of sympathy when I found out. If you’d like to know why, then read this novella.
Alexia Praks also did something sneaky; it should be called the secret weapon in a writers’ arsenal. Alexia Praks snuck in a child! Cue the “Awww”s! Sam Harrington’s daughter, Lily, is very cute and absolutely adorable! I can’t wait to read more about her!
The author could work on her grammar and phrasing a bit but I really like her writing style. It’s sweet and poignant – it’s what made me review for her in the first place. I saw no spelling mistakes or typos which was great for a self-published novel!
There were many times when I laughed out loud at the antics and silly acts of some of the characters. I loved the warmth that the ‘good’ ones shared and how easily it was to hate the ‘evil’ ones. This novella seemed like a fairytale…
I also loved the sistership that Chan and her younger sisters, Dara and Soriya, shared. It seemed really genuine and authentic. The way they acted around each other and the way try spoke in their teasing ways reminded me a lot of myself.
The ending was sweet and left a lingering mystery in its conclusion. I’m really looking forward to reading the full novel. This was an exciting sneak peak into ‘When the Sun courts the Moon’! Congratulations to Alexia Praks! A four star!!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

