Promotional & Giveaway: Angels of Moirai (Angels of Moirai, #1) by Nicole Salmond

Angels Of Moirai Book One.jpgTitle: Angels of Moirai (Angels of Moirai, #1) 
Release Date: 3rd May 2015
Pages: 370
Genre: Young Adult

“In three words I found this book to be FUN SEXY and IRRESISTIBLE!” – Alexis, Reality Bites – Let’s Get Lost Book Blog

“Live life to the fullest and with no regrets and Taking chances is always worth the risk when you’re doing it with someone you love – a very good message that this story encompasses; a simple yet inspirational read.” – Reads and Thoughts


ANGELS OF MOIRAI, #1: ANGELS OF MOIRAI

Since man first walked the earth, the Angels of Moirai have watched over them. Born human, they are taught never to feel, never to become attached, and never to become emotionally compromised.

Eighteen-year-old Lila Kingston is haunted by dreams of a mysterious angel. Suddenly the dramas of her broken family and the snobby rich kids at her school fail in comparison to the challenges she must face.

Hailing from the Angels of Moirai, James Taylor has been entrusted with the fate of lives from around the world for over a thousand years. His sole purpose is to ensure every mortal follows their designated path, but when Lila puts that very purpose at risk, he must make a choice—a choice that ultimately leads to the devastating consequences of a love never meant to exist.

The choice was never easy. Those kind of choices never are…

Amazon

Kobo

B&N


REVIEW

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Victory Editing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Ok, so I was PRETTY STOKED about getting to read ‘Angles of Moirai’! (Hey! Don’t point fingers at my slang! I’m proud to be an Aussie *winks*) I came across it one happy, book-starved day on Netgalley and the cover looked absolutely ENCHANTING! It was so enchanting in fact that I just HAD TO zoom in and then look for a better quality image of the cover so I could just stare at it and then LATER scrutinise every little single bit on it (aka the feathers) and figure out what everything is!
I’d also like to clear something up: the Angels of Moirai are MYTHOLOGICAL not BIBLICAL! Their existence stems from the Greek and Roman myths and the Three Fates. This was BOUND to make the novel more interesting!
Call me a traditionalist and old-fashioned, but when I opened up the .mobi file and looked through I opening pages (I know strange right?) I saw that the author, Nicole Salmond, had included TABLE OF CONTENTS! I got pretty excited… (I know – weird.) You don’t see a table of contents very often in novels these days but I miss seeing them very much. (I admit now: I’m a tiny, itty-bit eccentric…)
I loved the author’s style: intriguing, sophisticated, compelling and beautiful. It had that posh school and mystery lingering in the atmosphere which reminded me a lot of Lauren Kate’s ‘Fallen’ series and Becca Fitzpatrick’s ‘Hush Hush’ series. The style was also a tiny cliché. There was a bad-boy angel and the good-girl human.
The novel becomes awesome from the get-go. The author was able to grip my interest and make me read on through a series of flashbacks that left me questioning and curious. I would wonder who exactly this Lila character was and would learn so much about her in a short time. It let me connect with her and forge that funny reader-character bond that made me admire her character, personality and attitude.
I loved that the author made the transition from the REAL world as we know it to the FANTASTICAL world a smooth one when Lila learns about the Angels of Moirai from James. Sooooo many fantasy novels often make an abrupt change from one world to the other world for their main characters. I SERIOUSLY dislike this; it is the reason why I rarely give a five star to fantasy novels with angels. But Nicole Salmond has made this novel just right for me.
Ok, so there were SLIGHTLY cheesy moments that made this novel seem a bit like Twilight with Bella and Edward: “I am angel, Lila. An angel who has spent over a thousand years watching from a distance what love can do to a man and a woman, a true form of life itself. I was at peace with what I did, my role that I play in this world. I was never to experience the emotions of a human again after my death; we are not designed that way. The moment I saw you in the forest that day… it was like everything I had ever known to be true, suddenly changed, and I began to question everything. I tried endlessly to stay away, to keep my distance, but the more I stayed away, the more I wanted… I needed to be near you. I don’t know what will happen next, but I won’t deny my feelings for you any longer.”
At times the novel was bittersweet; very sad, too. It was a LOVELY romance story with that hint of fantasy and paranormalcy that made it A GREAT READ. ‘Angels of Moirai’ was also pretty short; I read it in under 3 hours. It had GREAT PROSE and EXCELLENT GRAMMAR; no spelling mistakes but a few typos.
Even though I rates this novel a four star, there really is NOTHING that I hated or disliked about it. I did wish, however, that it could have been better and I felt like the complication of the novel was slightly weak. I also didn’t see much I James’ ‘Angel’ world and there really is not as much action in the novel as you would expect. The story was really VERY romantic and concentrated mainly on Lila and James. I, however, DO believe that some more action or drama could have spiced the novel up.
The ending and the resolution of the novel was VERY satisfying but also a bit confusing for me: it seemed to drag on a bit. JUST when you thought that the novel ended – and in an awesomely epic way too – it then continued on to the next chapter and brought a bit more drama with it. I did wonder what the point of it was.
Congratulations to Nicole Salmond on an EXCELLENT beginning to a series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!


ABOUT NICOLE SALMOND

11952983_10153137954846270_5407620732878377614_n

Nicole Salmond is an Aussie who grew up on a farm in New South Wales but currently resides on the beautiful Sunshine Coast in Queensland. She is the mother of two gorgeous girls, Evelyn and Harper, and wife of a supportive husband – and childhood sweetheart – who understands that writing may sometimes consume every second of her thoughts! Oh, and a cute little staffy called Rusty.

Nicole also has a twin sister who is completely different to her, younger twin sister who are very similar and one older brother who has to deal with it all.

So far she has published four novels: Forever Yours, One Good Reason, Blackbird and Angels of Moirai. She is currently working on a sequel to Angels of Moirai. Nicole is not perfect; she is learning with every sentence typed and every correction made. It’s her passion and so long as she has a story to tell, she will write. Nicole also hops that they can be loved by many readers, and touch them in some way.

Nicole loves Nutella, the beach, sun, kids in the bed in the morning, slobbery kisses at night, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, books that consume me, movies, and generally anything romance related! Her life-long saying is: You gotta risk it to get the biscuit.

Website

Twitter

Facebook

YouTube

Pinterest

Goodreads

Sign up to her newsletter to get the latest news!

http://www.nicolesalmond.com/


GIVEAWAY

Enter this Christmas giveaway to win an ebook copy of Angels of Moirai and a $25 Amazon Gift Voucher! Hurry, the giveaway starts 20th December and ends on the 25th December. There will be 1 (ONE) Winner and the giveaway is OPEN INERNATIONALLY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 thoughts on “Promotional & Giveaway: Angels of Moirai (Angels of Moirai, #1) by Nicole Salmond

Leave a Reply

