Review: Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen

Dead RingerDead Ringer by Jessie Rosen

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Full Fathom Five via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Frankly and honestly, ‘Dead Ringer’ is NOT a novel I would usually pick up. In fact, it is one I would have probably avoided if not for the little nagging voice that spoke in the back of my mind and told – no urged – me to press ‘request’ on Netgalley. The novel is COMPLETLEY surrounded by mystery…and it’s the type of mystery that scares me. *shivers* It is told in third person with three different point of views: Laura’s, Charlie’s and Sasha’s. This REALLY gave depth and strong intensity to the novel.
The novel began quite well; I was surprisingly hooked and ready to read for a while. The author wrote in such a way that for some unknown reason I did NOT dislike the novel but was instead intrigued and curious. I honestly would have disliked this novel if it HAD been written any other way. The author used a wonderful writing style that left me begging for more: it was quite, silent and deadly…
The novel progressed quietly and with a whole lot of mystery through Laura’s, Charlie’s and Sasha’s POVs. I followed Charlie as he tries to forget THAT night and find out who has been terrorising him and his friends with photos, emails and snapchats. Laura tries to figure out who and what happened to Sarah Castro-Turner whilst crushing on Charlie. Sasha, meanwhile, uses her skills as a hacker to watch Charlie and his friends Amanda, Kit and Miller.
The characters were very well developed. They were dynamic and so VERY real. When reading though their POVs or when reading about them through another character I would often experience this jolting and spine-tingling feeling that made them come to life.
I would often wonder when the novel would pick up its pace and progress faster or with more drama and problems, but it continued its storytelling at a slow yet enticing pace. Just when I would get bored or hope for something more, the author would give the reader something new to digest or nibble on: something that would keep them reading.
I LOVED the plot twists and the surprises and the shockers! It made the story soooo good! The author managed to weave a web where you think you know who’s guilty but with ONE single chapter, EVERYTHING could change. I would expect NOTHING! Some authors write and leave bred-crumbs, but with this novel: No. It doesn’t give away ANYTHING!
When I was about halfway through the novel that was when the REAL facts, surprises and shockers started unravelling. That slow pace that still kept you hooked in the beginning half of the novel? GONE. OBLITERATED! The information just kept coming faster and faster until you didn’t knows left from right and up from down…and most importantly: right from wrong, good from evil.
This book certainly deserves a re-read. There was just so much going on that I had to stop when something new came up and rethink back on the things that I read and try to remember.
Here are some things I WANT ALL READERS TO KNOW BEFORE PICKING UP THIS NOVEL: stuff at EHS is SERIOUSLY messed up. You think you know messed up? Be prepared to learn a WHOLE different type of messed up. Two: EVERYTHING IS NOT AS IT SEEMS! Plus, this novel is as SCARY as can be: I’m not kidding you! I had NIGHTMARES because I read this novel before going to bed. Don’t say I didn’t warn you, so be PREPARED!
Unfortunately, the end this novel was JUST NOT FOR ME! I COMPLETELY DISLIKED the story the author had to tell but I felt that the writing was good, hence the THREE STAR.
Congratulations to Jessie Rosen on a POWERFUL debut!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

