Review: The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

The Trouble with DestinyThe Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Children’s via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Trouble with Destiny’ is a novel with a blurb that sounded fun to me and a cover that looked absolutely GORGEOUS yet also exciting and intriguing. It was THE main and major reason for why I picked this novel up. I always loved – and still love – reading light-hearted novels where humour runs abound and tears and kisses are not far…but just around the corner.
The blurb pretty much describes the whole book: What you see – or in this case read – is what you get! I liked the blurb a lot and the idea behind the story, so as a result I liked the novel.
The story centres on Liza’s need to take control of her marching band’s success and continuation in the future by participating in a competition that just might save them. But all she gets is hurt, frustration and failure. Yet cruise ships tend to bring the most unexpected surprises and Liza decides that she is ready to find LOVE. But when people play games, the results can be quite…unexpected.
Liza is a girl on a roll! She has a plan for everything and when life tries to bring her down or stop her plans, she doesn’t let it happen. She is naïve and enthusiastic yet also determined and serious. Yet Liza’s funniest – yet also frustrating – characteristic is her absolute CLUELESSNESS! There were many times when I wanted to shake her and rattle her until her brain set straight and she could SEE properly! (I know that sounds borderline violent and overly physical but it was EXACTLY what I wanted to do.) Sometimes I wondered about that girl…
At one point during the novel, Russ says to Liza: “Open your eyes, Liza.” Oh MY GOD! That is EXACTLY. Why she should do. THANK YOU, Russ. And GEEZ, Liza. Even the ‘dumb’ quarterback knows more than you!
I was halfway through the novel when I became upset with its progress and plot. It seemed to be infinitely stuck at the beginning of the ship cruise, when Liza’s band boards the ship and she encounters her nemesis/archenemy, Demi, who is the leader of the band’s biggest competition: the Athenas, an all-girl choir group.
At one point during the novel I wished the author could have put more competition, rivalry or flirting into the story. ANYTHING to spice it up a little! When you’re halfway through the novel you expect to see a real complication set in and drama of EPIC proportions occur. But no, all I saw was poor frazzled Liza running around the ship trying to get herself and her band together in order to win the competition whilst at the same time juggling her attention with Lenny, the boy she was best friends with (and the one who gave her first kiss) who she believes is her chance at LURVE! I was banging my head against the wall, slapping my forehead, punching the bridge of my nose and sighing deeply.
The characters were dynamic and well developed. They were spontaneous and sometimes erratic. Some I hated and some I loved: But that’s something that should always happen when you read a GREAT novel.
I really loved and absolutely enjoyed the ending! It was such a great way to end the novel, which was full of problems and mishaps for Liza.
I also loved the way the author told the story: It was exuberant funny optimistic and downright gorgeous. I saw no spelling mistakes or typos and the grammar was excellent, which is always lovely to see.
One thing I learned about this novel was that sometimes you’ve got to learn to just let things be and to let yourself make mistakes, to not try to control everything as in the end, you are the only person who gets damaged.
‘The Trouble with Destiny’ was a surprisingly insightful novel that had me grinning from ear to ear and laughing out loud!
Congratulations to Lauren Morill on yet another GREAT published novel!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

