Review: Welcome to Hickville High (Hickville High, #1) by Mary Karlik

Welcome to Hickville High (Hickville High, #1)Welcome to Hickville High by Mary Karlik

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Mary Karlik via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Welcome to Hickville High’ DREW ME RIGHT IN FROM THE VERY BEGINNING for some unexplainable reason. As soon as it started the story unfolded and took shape in my mind – I couldn’t stop reading. It’s words painted such a vivid picture that I began to feel what Kelsey was feeling; her doubts, sorrows and hopelessness – and that’s a pretty interesting thing as not all novels can do that and hook you in. I LOVED IT FROM ITS VERY FIRST LETTER.
The main character – Kelsey – is a very, very stubborn ass; but I felt a kinship to her. She reminded me A LOT of myself: sarcastic, resilient and DEAD SET on crawling out of any hole she found herself in…NO MATTER WHAT. And when life tried to prevent her from getting where she wanted and achieving her goals? She would wait that time out – maybe not patiently and with A LOT of emotion such as anger, rage and hatred – but she’d wait all the same. I instantly bonded with her.
I felt that the main female character, Kelsey Quinn, was smart and intelligent from the start. She was already planning of a way out and determined to succeed, no matter how wrong her opinions may be; she planned what she thought was RIGHT for HER and it was something that I GREATLY admired. And Kelsey remained smart, but then life in Texas rubbed off on her, the simplicity of country life, and she started to fall in love with it. THAT’S what made me fall in love with the novel and Texas. Kelsey was an extremely dynamic character whom seemed as REAL as you and me.
Now the main MALE character, Austin McCoy, was as hot/attractive/good-looking as his name suggests. With a name like McCOY, this novel was bound to get interesting; plus I am a sucker for guys with blue-coloured eyes. He was also a generic, western cowboy who was EXTREMLY loveable. He was so patient and kind and PERSISTANT about his affections and feelings for Kelsey, who as I said, was very stubborn on disliking Texas. Often, I thought he would give in and abandon the ‘thing’ Kelsey and he had, but he didn’t. To find that kind of tenacity on the thing he wants is REALLY admirable. And so admire him I did! *winks* He is my new BOOK BOYFRIEND.
The novel alternates between Kelsey’s and Austin’s point of view which is written in third person. Most of the book is in Kelsey’s POV but some is in Austin’s. This made it fun and thrilling to read as romance bloomed between Austin and Kelsey and we got to peek into Austin’s mind.
The most important thing about these two is that they made an EXCELLENT couple together. Some book-character couples JUST DON’T FIT! There are sooooo many examples together and it often feels like they are trying to mash two INCOMPATIBLE people together. They were just so…dreamy…*sighs*
The novel was just so lovely and sweet! *squeels in glee*
I also loved the cover. Have you guys seen it? It perfectly captures the essence of what ‘Welcome to Hickville High’. I think I’m going to faint in glee from all this lovely shebang.
I loved the author’s simple yet beautiful writing style and prose. It was so REFRESHING and FLOWING that I would OFTEN get carried away reading the novel. When the author narrated the story, I felt as if I were a part of it. I could smell the clear, sharp air and the coffee the characters drank. I could feel the heat and the tensing of muscles as they worked around their field and farm.
When I was a quarter of the way through the novel I realised something: This novel was going to be a five star. And guess what? It was a five star. There was absolutely NOTHING that I would change about this novel or the way the author wrote it.
The ending was just PERFECT. It ended the way I hoped it would and a shiver of satisfaction and pleasure ran down my spine as I finished it. I still believe it is a five star.
Congratulations to Mary Karlik on her excellent new series and OUTSTANDING novel! I can’t wait for more!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

