Review: A Sky Unbroken (Earth & Sky, #3) by Megan Crewe

A Sky UnbrokenA Sky Unbroken by Megan Crewe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Amazon Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘A Sky Unbroken’ was a novel that didn’t exactly live up to my expectations. I hoped for SO MUCH BETTER! It succeeded in satisfying me as a reader but the whole story seemed slightly out of whack for me.
When I first finished the second novel in the ‘Earth & Sky’ series, I actually pretty excited about reading ‘A Sky Unbroken’! It is the last in the series but somehow the entire series seemed to be leading up to this one…last…book. The EPIC CLIFFHANGER at the end of the LAST NOVEL didn’t make my need and want to read this novel ANY EASIER!
The blurb sounded pretty cool when I first took a peak at it. I liked the whole idea that the author was establishing. I thought, “Who knows, maybe the author, Megan Crewe, will hit a five star this time?”. I was sadly disappointed in the end. *sighs*
I admired the cover as it kept up with the other designs in ‘Earth and Sky’ and ‘The Clouded Sky’. The cracked and flaming planet above alluded to what happened in ‘The Clouded Sky’ and the ashen and black trees in the foreground of the cover really set the scene on the destruction. It was a cover worthy of a good story.
Now, into the novel: it started off pretty intense. I was instantly drawn in. Skylar is trying to cope with the devastating destruction of her planet – of OUR planet – Earth and Jule’s betrayal whom she trusted so much. I felt so much for her in that moment. I could only imagine what she was experiencing and seriously TRYING to imagine how the whole story would end when Earth was just…gone. Can you believe it? 7 BILLION LIVES LOST! That’s just…just…unexplicable. I really wanted for the Earth to return to its previous state and for Jules and Skylar to get back together throughout the book. They were my NUMBER ONE hopes.
I really enjoyed having a glimpse into Win’s (or Darwin’s) mind. In the other book, he seemed sort of pathetic: a slight weakling who was very sympathetic to Earthlings but didn’t do anything about it except express his emotions over the issue. I really wanted him to STEP UP or MAN UP so he could SAY or DO SOMETHING PROACTIVE! ANYHTING Luckily, in the novel, you’ll get to see a drastic change in Win’s character and who he really is, including his life on the Kemyate spaceship. This was a PLUS!
This novel also captured a lot of the human resilience we see today in our world – something I am very proud of as a human being – through Skylar’s demeaning and unjust captivity by the Kemyates. We readers see her fight for her freedom and a chance to see the Earth she longs so much for; to save the planet she BELONGS to. The destruction of Earth had greatly impacted her. She became more wary and downtrodden when you compare her to the person she was in the first two novels. I really admired her during these moments when she fought for her RIGHT.
*SPOILER* Unfortunately the love triangle between Skylar, Jule and Win was back. I was suprised (and shockingly excited) about this, which was confusing for me as I was let down and upset at this development BEFORE. I was only a third of the way through the novel, yet I was already rooting for Jule and Skylar. I had my fingers crossed, wishing that they are going to be together! *SPOILER*
Throughout the whole novel and series, I really wished the author could have explored the scientific side of things more often, such as how Kemyate guns work, the time field, how the atomic particles degraded, how some of the stuff – ANY of the stuff – works on Kemya. Yet the author chose to exclude these bits and just include a touch and go experience with the scientific bits. It really frustrated the guts out of me. THIS IS THE MAJOR REASON FOR MY FOUR STAR.
The ending was okay, but not what I expected of the series. I wish the author ended it differently.
Congratulations to Megan Crewe on the end of yet another series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

