Review: The Clouded Sky (Earth & Sky, #2) by Megan Crewe

The Clouded Sky (Earth & Sky, #2)The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Amazon Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘The Clouded Sky’ was a major improvement on its predecessor, ‘Earth and Sky’, and was an awesome read that I greatly enjoyed. It twisted love, science and betrayal into one big heap until you didn’t know where one started and the other began.
My firs thoughts about this novel were:
1) I was slightly reluctant to pick it up STRAIGHT AWAY after reading the first one.
2) It would probably be slightly disappointing like ‘Earth and Sky’; in other words a three star.
…But I was wrong. ‘Clouded Sky’ was heaps better than the first novel and I instantly got into the rhythm of things, such as what was happening. It just seemed to flow better than the last novel. And the something amazing happened: I really started to enjoy and look forward to reading this novel about a quarter – maybe less – of the way through the book.
We REALLY get to learn more about specific characters which were only given a minor role or cursory glance in the last book. This novel was also a lot more interesting and INTRIGUING because we get to learn more about Kemya, its culture and its people. I was always curious about the Kemyates in the first novel but we readers were never really given much info about them. So when Skylar gets to visit them…I obviously got EXCITED!
Thankfully, another plus to this novel was that it didn’t suffer from second-book syndrome like most books do in a series. The author and novel actually improved! There was lots of anticipation, drama and mystery which were pumped up. I read this novel in UNDER 3 DAYS! This is quite quick for me, what with my busy life an all since I NEVER get enough time to read.
The cover, like the first ‘Earth and Sky’s, is beautiful and gorgeous and extremely attractive and eye-catching. But…it disappointed me as it didn’t exactly give what it showed. I learned my lesson yet again, don’t judge a book by its cover…
One thing that I SURPRISINGLY didn’t mind but would have been put off of is the emerging love triangle that started to happen between Jule, Win and Skylar. (Please don’t killer for spoiling that, we ALL knew it was going to happen as soon as we read the blurb.) This is a warning to those who hate or dislike clichés or love triangles because I know that ever since Twilight (at least for me) I’ve been detesting them. But then later on in the book – to my entire and utter relief – *SPOILER ALERT* the love triangle ends when Skylar says she no longer has those type of feelings for Win. *SPOILER ENDS*
Yet another surprising thing: SKYLAR FINALLY STARTS ACTING HER AGE. She makes out (aka kisses) and sleeps with…won’t say with whom…but there’s a warning for you: Skylar has sex. Take it how you like it. She acts more maturely – only slightly – and does various other things in a more grown up way that made me sigh with relief. Unfortunately, Win still acts like a 16/17 year old. I still imagine most of them as teenagers (meaning 13-17 for me) and not as young adults (around 18 years and plus). I CANNOT IMAGINE JULE AS A 21-YEAR-OLD for some reason. It was kind of difficult to do in the way the author portrayed them. Same goes for Win and Skylar.
But ERMAGAHD! THE ENDING! YOU HAVE GOT TO READ THE ENDING! NO MATTER WHAT ANYBODY SAYS, PICK UP THIS DARN BOOK AND READ IT BECAUSE IT IS A HELL OF A LOT BETTER THAN THE LAST ONE! PROMISE!
In case you’re curious, I saw not one grammar, spelling or typing mistake.
Congratulations to Megan Crewe on a great sequel in the ‘Earth & Sky’ series! Looking forward to the next one!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

