Review: Earth and Sky (Earth & Sky, #1) by Megan Crewe

Earth & SkyEarth & Sky by Megan Crewe

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Amazon Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Earth and Sky’ is (to be frank) yet another sci-fi novel about time-and-space travel with attractive, human-like aliens by yet another unknown author. Sadly, it did not live up to the standards of ‘Wool’ by Hugh Howey, ‘Divergent’ by Veronica Roth or ‘Alienated’ by Melissa Landers.
I have to commend the author for her attempt at writing something that may be the next big scientific fiction novel. But this one just didn’t – quite – make it. It seemed too lack-lustre and the plot overused. It was too simple in its progression and story, that – honestly – it bored me. There were never moments where I would gasp, or cry or laugh. It just didn’t illicit those kind of emotions in me. There was this constantly remaining predictability to the novel. It was never mysterious, or anticipatory or thrilling. Have I explained enough? I have nothing against the author, but ‘Earth and Sky’ was simply subpar.
The cover though! Gosh! It is literally one of the best ones that I have seen on NetGalley and it instantly drew my eye. It very bright, effective and mysterious. I loved the planet that seemed to descend or hover at the top and the swirls that seemed to be the light from stars as the earth orbits around.
A third of the way into the book, I’d given up hope for this ever becoming what the author intended it to be. It just doesn’t have that something to make it pop. It seemed very stereotypical and archetypical of other science fiction novels. There was also a point where I was really bored with the book…and honestly kind of desperate for it to get better. Soooo DESPERATE that I left it for A DAY OR TWO and then came back to it.
I did believe that it was going to be like every other YA sci-fi novel about time traveling: and it was, but it THANKFULLY GOT BETTER closer to the middle and NOT SO BORING. It (and I) got into the rhythm of things and I was beginning to understand more, so things settled into place and became interesting and more exciting.
Unfortunately, my thorough knowledge of science would know that if any other life form closer to us would be able to reach us, contact us, and have such powerful technology as the race of aliens that Win, a main character, belongs to, they would be very dangerous and powerful to humanity. Instead they just seem weak and pathetic to the reader. The problems which Win tells Skylar, another main character, they have, seem like slightly-in-the-future-Earth problems. It just really downplays all the things that I know these aliens should be able to do and really undermines them.
All these alien ‘Kemyates’ can do is use time and space travel and shoot nerve guns.
The characters were interesting and dynamic, but I felt we could’ve gotten to know them more in the time that that author was introducing the story to us. They simply didn’t act their age. Skylar, acted like a 15-year-old instead of 17, and Win acted like a 16-year old instead of his 19. It really confused me.
The girl, Skylar, was also a bit selfish. There was a point in the novel where she gets to rewrite or change something from the past, but doing so will stop the planet from being saved.; it could also have a major impact on the future. Though she DOES gets round to understanding the consequences of her wishes and wants…eventually.
I also felt like they were moulded versions on other sci-fi characters. I couldn’t emotionally attach to any one of them or connect to understand their feelings. Actions also seemed moulded. Skylar reacts in a sort of muted, expected way to the surprise that she gets about the ALIEN LIFE FORMS and the technology they have. She seemed to just go through the motions of shock, rejection, reluctance, and acceptance.
Ending was just… Bleurgh! It really could’ve only went one way or another. It was waaaaaaay too predictable and not satisfactory at all. It could’ve been better. Congratulations to Megan Crewe!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

