Review: Kissing My Killer by Helena Newbury

Kissing My KillerKissing My Killer by Helena Newbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Kissing My Killer’ is the fourth (and highly anticipated by me) novel in the unofficial ‘Kissing’ series which is comprised of ‘Lying and Kissing’, ‘Punching and Kissing’ and ‘Texas Kissing’. It is a standalone novel which can be read after the novels mentioned above, if you wish to do so. It follows Gabrielle, a hacker who tries to protect women from slave trade, and Alexei, an assassin working for the man who Gabrielle is highly suspicious of. It is a STELLAR novel. That’s it. I can’t think of more to say.
The heroine (LOL that word still cracks me up) in this novel is strong and resilient and smart. THAT is what I love most about Helena’s writing and all of her novels. It is that her heroines are able to look after themselves and are not so proud that they would resist help when they need it. They are quick-thinkers and able to improvise on the spot. But what I love most, is that they are able to put their skills to use when their men are in danger. Talk about feminine power!
What excited me the most when I read about it was that some of the characters from the previous novels are also mentioned in ‘Kissing My Killer’. Not only MENTIONED, but they actually play an ACTIVE ROLE IN THE NOVEL! YAAAAAAY! It was cool of Helena to do that as it managed to interconnect all the novels in a subtle way.
Even though I did mention is was a standalone, I would still highly recommend reading the other books in the ‘Kissing’ series even though the series IS unofficial. They give you a background story to this novel that I think make to the story a whole lot better. Make sure to read them in the order listed above, as that was the way they were published and are in chronological order.
I also loved the tangible emotions that flew between Alexei and Gabrielle. They just seemed so ‘there’ and ‘present’, if that makes any sense? But I didn’t feel as if they really had the same strong connection that I could feel with the other characters in Helena’s series. I DID feel like it was some kind of copy or replica of the first ‘Kissing’ novel, ‘Lying and Kissing’. This greatly upset me as most often Helena Newbury would introduce characters from completely different worlds and/or situations from the previous novel.
What made the story highly enjoyable, though, were the Russian words scattered throughout the novel. It gave the novel a rustic and realistic sort of feel to it. It made it more raw and intense. I also enjoyed the mystery and anticipation that was constantly lingering in the novel, even after the action had passed.
I often had trouble switching between Alexei’s and Gabrielle’s point of view so quickly. It made the reading sort of choppy, but once I got used to it, it made it easier to read. In the end, it also made it more complex and interesting, switching between the two alternate views.
The plot progression was good. Grammar was excellent, as well as the spelling and any typing errors that sometimes sneak into ARCs like these.
Like the previous ‘Kissing’ novels, this one was slightly hard and depressing to read but it was also very different from any other mafia books I’ve read. (I really haven’t read that many, so maybe that last sentence was a bit biased.*smiles sheepishly*).
For you readers who love a Happily-Ever-After, than this one is for you. Congratulations to Helena Newbury on publishing and writing this novel. I really don’t know how you do it so fast! Cannot wait for the next ‘Kissing’ novel.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

