Review: By Sun and Candlelight (Flora, #1.5) by Jessica L. Brooks

By Sun and CandlelightBy Sun and Candlelight by Jessica L. Brooks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Jessica L. Brooks in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘By Sun and Candlelight’ is written in ROWAN’S PERSPECTIVE! Just a little reminder in case you haven’t noticed it in the blurb and for crazily excited wackos like me! I was really happy to FINALLY get inside that mysterious, good-looking, dark, wavy-haired, green-eyed, swoon-worthy, princely head of his. A highly recommended read as it gives you some important clues for ‘Open Thy Heart’.
Like the blurb says, this novella really does give you an inside look at daily happenings at Castle Lennox. It really made the world that Dahlia knows so little of, easier to picture and understand. Best of all, I wasn’t constantly wracked by curiosity of Ambrosia and what Rowan’s life is like outside of Dahlia’s visits.
A downer to this novella was that it seemed to drag on in the beginning. It also seemed very lengthy (a whole 199 pages) as it took me quite a while to read it for some reason – I felt that it could have been its own novel in its own right. I know the blurb says that it could bridges the gap between ‘If I Speak True’, the first in the ‘Flora’ series, and ‘Open Thy Heart’, the second novel, but I really didn’t understand the point of it in the beginning.
Yet on the upside, ‘By Sun and Candlelight’ was as well told and written as the first novel. I would highly recommend reading this novella before going onto the second as there were quite intriguing actions-packed scenes that I believe will play an important role in the next book of the series.
Congratulations to Jessica L. Brooks on a well-written self-published novella!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

