Review: Bewitched by Madam Witch (Spinsters and Casanovas: Whitney and Darcy, #0.5) by Wanitta Praks

Bewitched by Madam WitchBewitched by Madam Witch by Wanitta Praks

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wanitta Praks in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Bewitched by Madam Witch’ is a prequel novella to the full length novel ‘Madam Witch’, the first novel in the ‘Spinsters and Casanovas: Whitney and Darcy’ series. I have to warn you, this novella contains an excessive amount of profanities: in other words, lots and lots and lots and lots of swearing. If this level of swearing is bound to turn you off when you are reading, DO NOT READ IT!
First of all, this sounded novella sounded very high in potential. It featured a woman who had a high position at a workplace, who was dedicated and ambitious and set out to get what she wanted. In other words, high in feminism. I was all up for it and Whitney sounded like an awesome gal.
The man, Darcy, on the other hand, was a complete douchebag in my opinion. All he cared about was satisfying the sexual urges of his little brother ‘Jonathan’ who lives downstairs. In the beginning of ‘Bewitched by Madam Witch’ he seriously contemplates going out to get a few girls in order to please his ‘Jonathan’. Not the best first impression a reader could have got. He was often very whiny, pathetic and – to be frank – unmanly. I have nooooo idea how he is going to end up being the Dominant in Whitney’s and his relationship. To me, he came across as a woman in a man’s body. If you replaces every ‘him’ or ‘he’ with a ‘her’ or ‘she’ whilst reading, you’d understand what I’m saying – believe me, I’ve tried.
My low opinion of this novella, isn’t going to stop me from reading the whole novel, though. I intend to give this series a real go. It has potential and I’m not willing to let it go.
Congratulations to Wanitta Praks on a published novella! Can’t wait for more of the series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

