Review: Maid to the Mafia (Maid to the Mafia, #0.5) by Wanitta Praks

Maid to the MafiaMaid to the Mafia by Wanitta Praks

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Wanitta Praks in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Maid to the Mafia’ is a short prequel to the first novel in the ‘Maid to the Mafia’ series, ‘Totally Captivated’. I really enjoyed reading the beginning of the novella, as it was especially cute and funny yet had that mysterious undertone to it that made you want to keep reading.
This series was a real twist to Wanitta’s usual writing genre. It is very different to all the previous books I’ve read by her but I really liked it. It has a different feel to it that maybe due to the genre of something else. This book is also less comedic compared to the others and can be described as a thriller.
*start of spoilers*
I loved the little girl – a young Jenny Stone – who we meet at the beginning of the story. She kept calling this teenage boy ‘handsome boy’ and it struck me as absolutely hilarious. It sounded so flirty and coy to come from a girl her age – which is all of five years old – yet totally funny in her cute young voice.
I really disliked some of the characters introduced. For example her family is seriously cruel. They send Jenny to a mafia den all alone to use her as collateral damage and repayment in return for a debt that her father has racked up. A whopping 3 million dollars.
*end of spoilers*
There were grammatical mistakes, no spelling but some typing errors. But nothing a good editor can’t fix. This is, after all, a self-published novel.
Congratulations to Wanitta Praks.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

