Review: I Wish (I Wish, #1) by Elizabeth Langston

I Wish (I Wish, #1)I Wish by Elizabeth Langston

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by FictionEtc Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘I Wish’ was a nice novel that often brought out the teary eyes and noisy sniffles in me. It was a sweet, touching and heartfelt story that masterfully mixed fantasy with reality. I must admit, the book had more potential than it gave and there were often times when I wished it could have done something differently or the complete opposite of what it had done. It was a three star because it didn’t have that something extra to it that a four star would have and it didn’t make me dance with glee at having read it like a five star.
First of all the characters irritated be at times. Both were equally stubborn in their mindsets as to who each is and what they should do because of it. Their personalities were grating at times, too, as Lacey suffered from the hero complex and Grant would just keep saying ‘indeed’ all the time to everything Lacey said. At times it was hard to love Grant or feel any attachment to him because of his slightly stand-offish behaviour and his inexperience with human emotions.
This leads to my second point. The ending of the book. Ok, this is was not an ending I expected as the novel seemed like a normal fairy-tale where it started off with a problem and ended in a happily-ever-after. It was absolutely bittersweet and seriously tugged at my heart-strings and my tear-strings. Once you read the book and get to understand the characters a bit more, you will also understand the ending, and what I loved most about it is it was extremely logical and right. The conclusion made sense no matter how badly I wanted for what I wanted and expected to happen, happen.
Thirdly, I liked that the author incorporated real life problems into the book and how Lacey’s problem was solved with a little miracle and help from others. ‘I Wish’ was slightly boring as it did keep going on and at times I wondered why or if there was an end in sight. It also didn’t have that little something to spice it up and make it better.
And fourth of all, let’s talk about the structure of the novel. I believe all readers will enjoy this layout of the novel. It has chapters within which Lacey recounts the days/wishes events and she is mainly the character we follow as the book is written from her perspective, but at the end there is a small letter from Grant to his ‘Boss’ where he recounts the day/wish and it really helped me understand his character more. I believe if the author did not include Grant’s part, the whole novel would have fallen apart to tatters.
There were no spelling mistakes or grammatical errors but I did spot a few typos, but this is expected as the book version is an ARC.
Congratulations to Elizabeth Langston on publishing a lovely beginning to a new series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

