Review: Acting Brave (Fenbrook Academy, #3) by Helena Newbury

Acting Brave (Fenbrook Academy #3)Acting Brave by Helena Newbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

‘Acting Brave’ is the final book in the ‘Fenbrook Academy’ trilogy and wraps the series up with Jasmine’s (or as we come to know her as, ‘Emma’) and Ryan’s (her love interest) story. This was probably THE most hilarious book out of the entire series as it made me laugh more often than any other book. The characters antics were grin-worthy as they stumbled through their lives and loves. It was mysterious, raw, deep, powerful and emotional – like most of Helena Newbury’s writing.
It was also one word…addictive. Helena Newbury’s writing is ADDICTIVE. Personally, I always enjoy reading and reviewing her ARCs; they are so addictive that I never expect them to be less than a four star. THAT’S how good she is.
Yet another unique quality is her writing is you can always relate to the characters in some way through a bizarre series of similar experiences in life shared between you and the character she introduces.
And yes, it is a HEA (meaning its a happily ever after novel). Helena’s writing may be depressing, hard to read and extremely painful but you can always trust in her to end it in a way that will later make you feel happy with yourself for picking up the novel.
There were a few typing errors in my ARC – I counted at least three – yet there were nor grammatical or spelling mistakes which was nice.
My number one reason for not giving the book a five star was because I felt it still needed a little bit of something more. There was just something elemental missing that would have otherwise made it a five-star read. There was lots of tension but little in the way of anticipation in my opinion. There were a few flashbacks thrown in but all they did was give background history to the story and main character.
Congratulations to Helena Newbury on publishing a wonderful finale to the ‘Fenbrook Academy’ series!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

