Review: Balance Broken (Starbright, #2) by Hilary Thompson

Balance Broken (Starbright, #2)Balance Broken by Hilary Thompson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hilary Thompson in exchange for an honest review.

Review

You won’t regret picking up ‘Balance Broken’; neither will you regret picking up the first book, ‘Justice Buried’ – if you haven’t…DO SO!
I am officially absolutely, madly, enchantingly in love with this series. Not only has ‘Balance Broken’ made me thirst for more, it also made me connect with the Starbright world like never before. At first, when I picked up ‘Justice Buried’, I thought, “Oh well, here goes nothing. Yet another book about astrology, stars, prophecies and star-crossed lovers.” I can assuredly assure you, it is not. In fact, this series reminds me a lot of what the ‘Divergent’ series could have been and was not. When picking up ‘Balance Broken’, I was enthusiastic about the future of Lexan and Astrea, our main characters, yet uncertain as to where they were going ever since finishing the first book.
I seriously could not predict what lay in store for them – something I can do with almost every book – yet this made me even more excited to lay my hands on ‘Balance Broken’. We see a lot of change in the lives of Astrea and Lexan. They grow, mature, learn and strive; most importantly, they change. They are one of the most dynamic characters I have met in my whole reading life.
Not only are Astrea and Lexan unique, the minor and supporting characters are also breathtakingly realistic – something you will see even more once you reach half-way through ‘Balance Broken’. These characters made not only the plot more engaging and interesting, but their whole world, too.
As always, I also look to the grammatical side of the story and I must admit is was not lacking. I saw no errors, mistakes or typos – the sentences flowed like a breeze. The story is told only in Astrea’s point of view, but if I have seduced you into reading the ‘Starbright’ series, this is all about to change in the third book. There are fictional historical bits at the beginning of every chapter that are sort of like quote from the ‘Starbright’ world, too, which make reading the book more engaging as we are given little glimpses into the past of Astrea’s and Lexan’s world.
I honestly can’t wait to read ‘ Destiney Risen’, the third in the series. Congratulations to Hilary Thompson on publishing and writing yet another beautiful novel! Can’t wait for the rest!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

