Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, EverythingEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Random House Children’s via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Nicola Yoon’s sparkling debut is a must-read! Simple, compelling and heart-breaking, it is designed to pierce you at your very core. ‘Everything, Everything’ is my type of book. It is easy to read, has romance, the impossible, the original, the unexpected and the happily ever after. The author writes straight from her heart, and you can see that as you navigate the pages and illustrations in the book. The characters were dynamic and diverse; the plot flowing yet always unexpected; the idea original yet new; everything a reader could wish for.
The design of the book itself was so visually appealing to me, that it enhanced my reading experience. First of all, the chapters were not altogether chapters, but more like themed diary entries. They were short and very interesting to read as some gave a deeper insight into Madeline’s life and character. There were little illustrations dotted throughout the book which were easy to decipher and were black and white, making them visually appealing and adding to the almost ‘clinical’ environment that come to associate with the one that Madeline lives in. I loved the titles in each chapter as they were unique and made me want to read on and get to know the reason for them. The layout seemed very clean to me, which I liked as some fonts and designs seem to clash and become very messy or overcrowded.
Yoon’s writing was a joy to read. It was simple (as I’ve said before) yet very effective clearly portraying the mind of a seventeen/eighteen year old. I saw no grammatical mistakes, typos or errors of any kind – and thank god! If there were, my opinion on this book would most definitely drop.
The reasons for my five star are as follow: once I’ve read it, I had no regrets for picking it up, I was left completely satisfied (ok maybe not completely satisfied because I would really like to know what happens next with Madeline and Olly, but I know that it would be unrealistic as their story id done and set on a brighter future) as well as the ending being gorgeous and wonderful and lovely. Congratulations to Nicola Yoon on publishing a sparkling debut! Can’t wait for more of your books!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

