Review: The Shadows (The Fianna Trilogy, #1) by Megan Chance

The Shadows (The Fianna Trilogy, #1)The Shadows by Megan Chance

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Skyscape via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Now this was a book I enjoyed! Megan Chance brings to you a compelling tale of Irish history, myth and lore full of love, romance and enchanting spells. ‘The Shadows” was a book I enjoyed primarily because it was so different from many other paranormal novels which I have read before. Instead of picking vampires, werewolves and fairies, Megan Chance chose to bring in a completely original idea of myth from a country that we love yet know so little of…Ireland. I (probably amongst many) know very little of Irish myth and legend, which made it very intriguing and an interesting experience. I must admit the names were VERY different – their pronunciation was a complete puzzle to me! But not only did the author write about Irish myth, she also chose to weave in a bit of history into the plot, which in my opinion was a very good idea. It added that little dash of extra to the story, and made more authentic and realistic plus it have me an interesting view on how the Irish must have felt when falling under the rule of the British. An interesting addition, was that the novel was not set in the present day; rather it is set in a time when class and money meant a great deal to people. This meant that the novel did not only incorporate history, it was a historical, too! I genuinely love historicals because I am a sucker for dresses, gentlemen and romance. (What girl isn’t?) There was also that cliff-hanger! THAT CLIFF-HANGER! ARGH!It was probably the best and worst time of my reading life. The best because it gave me the tingle of anticipation and I had the next book so I would be able to find out what happens next; the worst because I new that I had to review this book first and it did not leave me happy.
The writing was also a pleasure to read. It was simple and flowed well, without any cumbersome words that we do not usually encounter or which we may need to look up after. We follow the story through the eyes of three different characters – Grace (the main protagonist), Patrick (who is the man she is to marry) and Diarmid (the man Grace has an undeniable attraction to and an ancient warrior). In my opinion, it also added to the story as it let us see the story through different perspectives which gave the reader a deeper insight into the actions and thoughts of the characters. There was also no typos, errors or grammatical mistakes that would have made the novel a let down. All in all it was a very solid four star. Congratulations to Megan Chance on publishing a genre-defying novel! Can’t wait to lay my hands on the next one!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

