Review: Blightborn (The Heartland Trilogy, #2) by Chuck Wendig

Blightborn (The Heartland Trilogy #2)Blightborn by Chuck Wendig

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Skyscape via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Blightborn is a continuation of the Heartland Trilogy that improved to seemed to improve…somewhat. I really don’t have much to say about this book either. It had a lot more love scenes in it than the previous book, it was more everything and anything. Chuck Wendig wrote this mixture of science-fiction and high-fantasy that would have appealed to me if not for the world he created…and corn. CORN! CORN!! That blasted CORN. I really dislike it. I mean if not for it, all the problems the Heartlanders face would not exist and Cael and the rest of the gang would not be who they are, thus this book would not exist. I flew through this book as I did the previous. Its also a continuation of the previous and really expands on all the ideas that made no sense to me in the first book. We follow Cael and other various characters as all their action lead to one thing…the beginning of the ending of the Empyrean Empire. What fascinated me – don’t ask me why – was that the characters were all interconnected through there knowledge of another character. They also lead paths that stem towards one thing and not various ones that make no sense; which I liked.
Wendig’s storytelling comes through once more in this novel. The grammar and style all flow together flawlessly. If anything, The Heartland Trilogy would have been a great children’s read with all its storytelling and I wouldn’t be surprised if it showed up on the Premier’s Reading Challenge in Australia. Congratulations to Chuck Wendig on yet another published book!
Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

