Review: Under the Empyrean Sky (The Heartland Trilogy, #1) by Chuck Wendig

Under the Empyrean Sky (The Heartland Trilogy, #1)Under the Empyrean Sky by Chuck Wendig

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Skyscape via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I didn’t really think much of Under the Empyrean Sky, hence the three star rating. When I first requested it, it seemed like a novel written for kids in primary as a target audience. To my pleasant surprise it wasn’t. Its also not all the blurb has got it cracked up to be. It is about CORN but its also about survival – which was kind of depressing (don’t mention the first half of the book to me) and kept me up at night once I put it down. To be honest I was really frustrated with it at first. It kept going on and on and on about all this stuff that at some point I went, “Why am I learning about a totally random, apocalyptic world that makes absolutely nooo sense and makes me want to dig a hole and die?!”. I know, a bit dramatic, but I couldn’t help it. Once you reach halfway and read on, things bump into place and new stuff is revealed that makes you understand the Heartland world a bit more and a little better. The author was a genuine storyteller. He spun words like corn wheat into gold. (Ha-ha, get it? CORN.) It certainly livened up the book.
There weren’t any grammatical or typo errors, which was lovely. I have no language related complaints or whinging about it to be honest – unlike half of the book I pick up! It really isn’t a book that I would normally pick up or buy, and probably even now I wouldn’t really recommend it except to kids maybe in primary school. Its a sort of tale that usually goes buried beneath thousands of others – also part of the reason why I gave it a three star. Congratulations to Chuck Wendig on a successfully published book!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

