Review: Like Candy (Candy, #1) by Debra Doxer

Like Candy (Candy, #1)Like Candy by Debra Doxer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Xpresso Book Tours via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

“I wish I was the first guy you fell for. Then maybe the shadows in your eyes wouldn’t be there, and when I told you how beautiful you are you’d believe me. You make me want to erase those shadows and chase away the memories that put them there, because every day that you don’t realize how amazing you are is a tragedy in my book.”

Review

This book made me swoon, tear up, laugh, giggle, snort, frown, gasp, hmm, curse, blink, wonder, think, suspect, tense up, nod, argh, etc. It was one of the loveliest books I came across that Netgalley had the kindness of bestowing me.
It certainly wasn’t what the blurb implied; some teenage girl in training from her father who is an assassin/spy/secret-agent, who falls for a guy and likes to take serious revenge on people for wronging her but then discovering there is more to life than just being an assassin/spy/secret-agent. No. It’s about a fairly normal girl, Candace Seaborne, who takes revenge every now and then for fun. She is smart, funny, ruthless yet loving. She is a girl who knows what she wants; and that is to become like her father (who vehemently protests this notion) and finally have a normal family and home…without any romantic attachments (her ex-cheated on her).
This book just kept getting better and better. It starts pretty slow, but rises in tension and drama until…CLIFFHANGER!!! I know, I should have expected this since it is clearly said in the blurb that this is part one or a two part story but JEEZ! Why such a cliffhanger, Ms Doxer?
Candy’s relationships are very real with her fellow characters…especially Jonah Bryson. There was lots of emotion flowing between the two and everything seemed distinctly real. There was no telling like some authors do, but lots of showing instead. I believe this is part of what made this book so good.
I saw no grammar mistakes and maybe one typo – which I can no longer remember where it was. The sentences were fairly simple and easily to read but properly structured so everything flowed smoothly. It was a genuine pleasure to read. Congratulations to Debra Doxer on another wonderful book that makes you want to re-read it as soon as you put it down! Can’t wait for Sweet Liar!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

