Review: Justice Buried (Starbright, #1) by Hilary Thompson

Justice Buried (Starbright, #1)Justice Buried by Hilary Thompson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Bloomsbury Children via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Justice Buried is about sixteen-year-old Astrea – or Trea – who is supposedly the Starbright Maiden of Justice, prophesied by the Fates to bring her people of Asphodel from their underground city to restore the world from the Cleansing and establish contact with its two sister cities with the help of Lexan, her Scales.
But Astrea is not satisfied with her prophesied future and her duty to partner with Lexan so that the two may finally fulfil the prophecy. As she rebels, she uncovers ancient secrets, forced to fight for her life against those who would use her power.
Personally, I haven’t read any astrology-or-zodiac themed books in the past…2-3 years? So this was a refreshing novel to read. This book was filled with lots of mystery and intrigue, gripping you at times and making you wonder at others. What I love in every single novel – and which doesn’t appear very often these days, which is a bummer – is the little something in front of every chapter such as a poem, quote, song, history piece or an extract from a fictional book inside the world of the novel. Each chapter begins with that little extra which makes the following chapter more engaging, allowing us a deeper understanding of Astrea’s and Lexan’s world, their actions and their thoughts.
A slight downer, there is a love triangle. I have the slight feeling that the love triangle should not have happened. The book would have been heaps better if the romantic problems between Astrea and Lexan stayed just between the two of them. But noooo! Astrea had to go for a different guy who promises her a future full of freedom whilst loving Lexan would mean a destiny. *Slaps forehead*
On the grammatical side of the novel, it was pretty good. Every now and then I would spot a phrase and go, “I want to use that in my novel…if I ever write one!”. I saw no mistakes and the lovely font of the title was nice to see, too. I really can’t find much to criticise this book. It was a lifesaver in a time when I was really desperate for something that rated a four star or above. Like REALLY desperate. It was a four and a half stars in my journal, but the comebacks listed above made me round it down to a four. Congratulations to Hilary Thompson on a wonderful debut novel, and thank you for saving my day in a tune when I was going positively insane from book deprivation!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

