Review: Heaven Has No Regrets by Tessa Shaffer

Heaven Has No RegretsHeaven Has No Regrets by Tessa Shaffer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Smith Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

I’d just like to warn you, before you consider picking up this book – this novel has a whole lot of emotional turmoil, problems, sicknesses and depressing situations that may or may not turn you off from reading this book. Heaven Has No Regrets, was by far the hardest novel I ever read – Heaven Is For Real came at a very close second. Heaven Has No Regrets was very much like Heaven Is For Real, so if you’ve read Heaven Is For Real, you’ll know what to expect from Heaven Has No Regrets. Both books deal with death, grief and, of course, Heaven. This book was the hardest to read because of its emotional centre on the hardest things in life, love, grief and death. It was difficult to read because it made me think about those hard things and made me think, ‘What if…?’. I literally spent the three whole days (three days reading is a very long time for me to read a book) crying or trying to supress tearing eyes and runny noses from being seen by anyone – otherwise they would find me in a perpetual state of crying whenever I looked at my phone (which I read from). If you decide to pick up this book, be prepared with a box of tissues at your side; it will bring out the tears from even the most jaded readers out there. This book starts off in the present, where Mackenzie deals with her grief over Faith. It then switches to alternate between Faith’s flashbacks and Mackenzie’s flashbacks. The chapter comes to an end with the Narrator’s part. The novel was written very well in my opinion, the flashback and alternating narrative structure giving a depth and volume then if it was just written in chronological order. It had some typos and maybe one or two words that were out of place, but in the end a well-written novel. A fully deserved five star. Congratulations to Tessa Shaffer on an award-winning and exquisitely-heartbreaking debut! You deserved it!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

