Review: A Secret Proposal Part 1 (Falling For Sakura Trilogy, #2) by Alexia Praks

A Secret Proposal Part 1A Secret Proposal Part 1 by Alexia Praks

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

This is the second book in the Falling For Sakura series with its updated cover and retitled name. This book concentrates mainly on Sakura trying to find her biological mother whom she knows works for the design and fashion industry but does not know that her mother had changed her name, making it hard for Sakura to find her. It also concentrates on the seven brothers’ love for Sakura, especially that of Sebastian and Darcy, who spend months trying to find her. Unbeknownst to them, she is always right under their noses – or sometimes above them. In my opinion this book was better in some ways than the first one, A Secret Kiss, yet worse in others. I had the underlying feeling that this novel experienced second-book syndrome. It was better in the fact that when I first opened it, the author managed to capture my attention a lot more deeper and faster as well as more effectively, than when you compare it to the second book. The novel pace seemed to gradually deteriorate after the first few opening chapter which were filled with a fast-paced, exhilarating and anticipating chase. My love for the book started to diminish, if I am to be honest, but the novel did get better in the end where all sorts of new secrets are revealed that will make you want to cackle with joy. (I know I certainly did.) Another problem I found with the book was incorrect tense use, grammatical mistakes and way too much cheesiness and sappiness; it was kind of a repellent to me as Sebastian and Darcy more often voiced their love for Sakura than showed it. All in all, it was a very romantic read, and if you want more of happily-ever-afters and something that cries damsel-in-distress…pick it up – its just for you. Congratulations to Alexia Praks on a published book. May the readers create your fandom!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

