Review: Punching and Kissing by Helena Newbury

Punching and KissingPunching and Kissing by Helena Newbury

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Helena Newbury in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Punching and Kissing is the sequel novel to Lying and Kissing, but it can be read as a standalone novel as the characters are in no way related to those in Lying and Kissing. Punching and Kissing also has some characters who play minor roles from the Fenbrook Academy series. I found Punching and Kissing an interesting read – as always, Helena Newbury thought outside the box when creating her real-life characters and world – but it was also somewhat depressing as both characters, Aedan and Sylvie, struggle with internal demons that threaten to consume their relationship. Punching and Kissing takes place in the streets of New York, where illegal activities dominate the lives of the people. Aedan and Sylvie find themselves there as a result of loosing their families one way or another. What I liked a lot about both characters is that they were capable of self-sacrifice to save those they loved – a big deal if you ask me. Aedan was an awesome character to read about as he was of Irish descent; with his lilting accent, hunky body and gorgeous face, you can fall in love wit him for sure. Sylvie was thrilling too, as she never gave up and she really fought for what she wanted – both literally and metaphorically. This book was a solid 4 star but because I found it was hard to read from its depressing mood, I gave it a three. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a Happily Ever After after a battle for life. Congratulations to Helena Newbury on a well written and published book!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

