Review: The DUFF (The DUFF, #1) by Kody Keplinger

The DUFFThe DUFF by Kody Keplinger

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

Let’s just get something put in the open – I didn’t think too highly of the DUFF. The character wasn’t one that I loved and admired; which is mandatory for me to like the book. Her actions were reasonable though in my opinion not excusable. Sure she has problems at home and needs to get away from them, but start an enemies-with-benefits with a guy who sleeps around? Not something I greatly liked, and the thing is; she does it again and again! The plot was a reused one in my opinion. But why did they choose to make a movie put of it? There were no grammar mistakes whatsoever and the plot was well laid out. For that I have it a 3 star. It was another one of those average books that one of the thousands of authors out there have written. The character was also kind of dumb, even though the author states the contrary. Bianca is an advanced-placement student yet she doesn’t really act like it. You’d think her a bit more mature and intelligent yet nothing really supports it excluding the author stating that she attends harder classes. Overall; didn’t really appeal to me. Some bits were good but to me it’s still like the millions of other books put there. It’s advantage? It’s being made into a movie. Congratulations to Kody Keplinger for a written and published book!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

