Review: The Rogue Series Vol. 1 by Alexia Praks

The Rogue Series: Vol. 1The Rogue Series: Vol. 1 by Alexia Praks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Alexia Praks in exchange for an honest review.


The Rogue Series: Volume 1 is a historical regency romance novel containing two books; The Earl’s Desire and The Duke’s Revenge by Alexia Praks, an emerging author from Wattpad. It is filled to the brim with drama, love and happily-ever-afters. After all, who doesn’t like a happy ending?
The Earl’s Desire is about Christine, also known as Chris, who disguises herself as a boy to provide for her poor, on the run from the past family. Her grandparents are too old and her adopted brother too young. She works in a factory where she is mistreated like all other child labourers in the 1800s until a misfortune sends her master into fury and into her beating. She is saved by a man, Merrick, who pays for her release from contract and offers her a better place to live just like the previous children he has saved. Chris gladly accepts still in disguise as a boy and goes to live as a ward to Merrick – now known the be the Earl of Huntingdon. Her disguise as a boy proves to be troublesome to the earl as he becomes attracted to her and all sorts of troubles and accidents start to unfurl.
The Duke’s Revenge centres on Ivy, the bastard child of an earl who lives with her step-mother and half-sister. She is treated like a servant and is often physically abused by her step-mother until she decides to run away to start a better life. She is aided by a man who saves her from two highwaymen as she travels to a nearby castle with her mute uncle, where she can find shelter and food from the servants there. The duke Maximilian stumbles upon her in his bedroom after an early return from travels. His learning of Ivy’s identity as the daughter of the lady who killed his elder brother, and seeks to have his revenge by making innocent Ivy his mistress and ruining her. But all is not as it seems, and Ivy may just be the innocent woman, not the daughter of a cunning lady.
Alexia Praks is a very good romance writer but she has that ‘new-writer’ tone to her novels. There a few mistakes and omissions in the novel but this is an otherwise fun book to read. The characters are lively and very distinguishable from each other, which I like as some author series have characters which seem to blend into the one and same after reading the series. Grammar is slightly wonky, but a good editor can fix that in the future.
Congratulations to her for a written and successfully published book!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s