Review: The Novice (Summoner, #1) by Taran Matharu

The Novice (Summoner, #1)The Novice by Taran Matharu

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC kindly provided by Hachette Children’s Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review

There is lots of talk about an app called Wattpad – it allows you to write your own books, publish them and gain followers views and likes as you publish your book. If you’re lucky, a publisher may offer to publish your book. So far I have read two authors who originated from Wattpad, Taran Matharu and Alexia Praks, and both had that little something in their writing that makes the book unputdownable. When I first started reading The Novice, I expected lots of grammar mistakes and poor sentence structure – I was wrong; I expected a poor plot and undeveloped characters – I was wrong; I expected bad story ideas and an inexperienced writing technique; I was wrong. I WAS WRONG! And like every other reviewer has said, “THIS BOOK IS AWESOME, AMAZEBALLS!” Even though Taran Matharu is a fledgling author this book is utterly amazing. A mix between THE GOLDEN COMPASS, HARY POTTER and THE THRONE OF GLASS -it’s my favourite storytellers combined to form one epic book. If you’re in doubt – don’t be! Pick this book up, you won’t regret it…promise!
Congratulations to Taran Matharu for a successfully published book! Definite five star!

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

