Review: Soul Crossed (Of Demons and Angels, #1) by Lisa Gail Green

Soul CrossedSoul Crossed by Lisa Gail Green

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


ARC provided by Full Fathom Five via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Short Review

I enjoyed the book and think that any reader who loves to read about Heaven and Hell should give this book a go. The few downfalls it had were the 3 or 4 ill-formed sentences in the beginning, not a full connection to the characters and short tension. 3 stars is what I give to books that I find average and 4 to books that have potential for more – and this book definitely had it. Congratulations to Lisa Gail Green on a published novel!

Full Review

Soul Crossed is a contemporary romance about angels and demons. I enjoyed it well enough, finished it in one sitting actually but I’m a quick reader, and though it had potential if the writing and plot was slightly improved as there were only a few badly formed sentences hence my 4 star rating.
The novel centres around characters Grace, Josh and Cam. Grace is given the rare opportunity to become an angel and earn her wings so that she may visit a family she has left behind – if she can bring Cam, a boy on the brink of evil, back from overstepping the line that will bring about the Armageddon.
Josh has led a corrupted life, so when he dies, it is no surprise that he ends up in Hell. But Lucifer has plans for him and offers him eternal suffering or the chance to be a demon and corrupt various souls and one in particular – Cam.
But once Grace and Josh meet they have to fight for a star-crossed love, the wishes and battle against manipulation from all sides – even the unexpected ones.
Soul Crossed is an excellent title for this book as its about the fight between heaven and hell, how good may be in disguise of bad and bad may be in disguise of good, as well as a star-crossed love between two people on opposing sides of the battle.
Lisa Gail Green uses character development pretty well to engage the reader. Grace, Josh and Cam all grow in unexpectedly expectant way as well as all the supporting characters in ways that I loved. There was a small downfall though, I was not really in touch with the characters and they seemed kind of distant to me. We don’t really learn a lot about the background and previous history of any of that characters and I believe it was vital.
Tension is well placed but not really all that thick and does not really stretch in areas that would have greatly improved the book – or maybe I’m just a jaded reader… probably the latter.
Plot is good and well established but slightly obvious though some moment I greatly enjoyed and once it ended I felt that is had great potential to develop in the following books.
Green stays around the edges of Christian belief such as Heaven and Hell, God and Lucifer, Angels and Demons. She writes about a Prophecy but none that I have heard of and my suspicions are that the prophecy was sort of made up and not really well developed – but then its only the first book.
As said above, I enjoyed the books and believe it is a solid 4 star rating. I congratulate the author on her publishing and writing Soul Crossed, as I know it takes a lot to accomplish something like this. Lovers of angels, demons and star-crossed love should definitely pick this book up.

Rating Plan
1 star : Strongly did not like the book, writing and plot was bad. Idea of the book was against my liking.
2 star : Didn’t like it, didn’t find it interesting or gripping. Seemed to drag on to me.
3 star : An average book. Wasn’t bad or good. Everything else was well done. Original idea.
4 star : Like a 3 star but has potential to it as a series or the book grew on me as it progressed and certain scenes captured me. I Enjoyed it and read it in one sitting.
5 star : I LOVED IT! I stayed up late until 3 am. Author is a genius, characters, plot, idea, development, EVERYTHING was EXCELLENT. Nothing else can possibly be said except that its 5 STAR!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

